Sunrise at 1 a.m. in northern Finland

in #finland6 years ago

43660717_2193237694085051_3184771988614807552_n.jpg

During summer the sun only only goes down in my my part of Finland for about 15 minutes. This can create some confusion to your day when you initially move there. I had a friend who called me up once after he had just moved from the southern Europe. He wanted to know why all the stores were closed at 3 in the afternoon. My reply to him was that it was not in fact 3 in the afternoon, but instead 3 in the morning. He didn't believe me. "But it's so bright." He said.

"Of course it's bright!" I screamed. He had woken me up from a very nice dream and I was really annoyed. "It 3 a.m and we live 100km from the Arctic Circle! Do you see any one else walking around? No? You know why? Cause it's 3 a.m.! Go home man."

Mind you, when I first moved to Finland I also had the same problem. I would get completely lost in the long summer days. Now it's become routine to just close the blackout curtains and not pay attention to it.

Sort:  

Congratulations @stanido! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The new SteemFest⁴ badge is ready
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!