Fireman Steve

in #fire4 years ago

10C11136-044E-4ACB-AD31-686AF1F19C78.gif

It’s nice to see that the warm weather is back here in the U.K. but know one expected that it would be this HOT!!

Picture a fine Saturday morning. Your sitting in your garden eating Poached eggs on toast and drinking freshly ground coffee.
As you look around, Your neighbours are pretty much as happy and content as you and with a half broken smile you know that it’s going to be a good day.

Little do you know that this was going to be the last point of the day that calm would be the feeling.

52F47B11-225D-4F70-B5DF-CDF30A172F77.jpeg

I was just washing my breakfast plate and decided that the lawn could do with being cut.
As I was setting up the lawn mower, I notice that a neighbouring garden had heavy small coming from it.

At first I thought that they where just burning some wood but the more I looked I realised that this for was on the other side of their fence and was getting bigger.

I quickly ran next door and told them that there is a fire spreading our way and told them to leave the house ASAP.

Running into my mother-in-laws garden which was next door to the fire, I grabbed her hose pipe and started surprising the base of the fire to stop it from spreading our way.

6B7C508C-622A-4D78-BB8A-9E41F224265A.jpeg

As you can see the hose was not very good but did hold back the fire a little.

The heat was intense and I could feel my face and hands where scorching. Other neighbours were wetting the fences to stop the fire getting hold and the fire brigade had been rang at least six times.

At one point I felt that I was going to loose control and have to stop but I kept getting azures that the fire fighters would be here soon so I hung In.

Finally!!

03E646E7-6510-47A2-9103-41803073D30E.jpeg

The fire brigade had arrived but instead of coming from our local (on call) fire station, they had travelled 10 miles. This is due to no fire fighters being on call in our area.

Surely enough though they did a great job and after 2 fire engines and 2 hours of work, the fire was out.

83D43AF9-EBDC-4EBD-82B0-2CF611C0B350.gif

Turns out that over our neighbours fence was an excessive amount of house rubbish that had been tipped and someone had flicked a cigarette end over the fence wish ignited the rubbish.

The fire brigade later told me that they was aerosol canisters in amongst the rubbish pile and I was lucky that they did not explode.

Everyone was ok though and the only damage was that of the neighbours fence oh and their a reputation.

803D73CD-F594-44DD-A2E3-42F1E6BD9DD7.gif

Sort:  

There can only be one response to this

Well!
You have to do something for content 😉

Also after a heavy morning of drinking copious amounts of coffee I could easily triple the output of that garden hose, putting out the fire while also topping up my all over tan - double bubble!

Yeah the hose was not too clever but it did keep the flames back and saved my mother-in-laws fence.

It's hot enough as it is, anything is gonna start a fire now.

That rubbish had been there for years but with the mix of dry, hot weather and a stray cigarette butt, we certainly turned up the heat that day.

That was a close call. Too bad you didn’t have any hot dogs or marshmallows to cook while you waited for it to be put out.

Certainly could smell some meat cooking but turned out that was coming from me 🥵

Oh and you need #teamuk for the curation account to light it's own fire 🔥