My first week on Steemit

in #firstweek6 years ago

Dear Steemians,


It has been almost a week since I got on board of Steemit, and I thought it would be a good way to start by letting everyone know how it is to experience this platform from the perspective of a newcomer right now!
For people that are newbies as well and have had a completely different experience, please let's discuss them in the comments below! :)

The main topics I’ll go through we’ll be these ones:

  • How I got here
  • My first day
  • Upvotes
  • Posts
  • Comments
  • Trending
  • Future

whirl_steem.png

How I got here

Not much ago, I found out about cryptocurrency’s rising tendency for the end of this year as well has other less known altcoins that could be exploding very soon.
I saw this as an opportunity to invest, so I dove into the web researching about cryptocurrencies, their white papers, how they work, until I found an article that was like “The best altcoins to lookout for in 2018” and that was where I found out about Steemit.
What appealed me the most about steemit was its potential. Since everyone nowadays spends the most of their time online, and most of that time is spent in social networks, I thought the steemit concept to be very fascinating and that would certainly explode once the masses knew about it. I thought like this since a facebook where your posts give you money is probably a dream for a lot of people that spent so many time there.
And so here we are!


My first day

My first day on Steemit was spent researching about the trends of the platform. I also learned how to write posts (markdowns, that are just awesome for how simple they are, sorry if I overuse them in this post ahah), how the rewards work and that there were some people and communities helping newbies which by the way is a great way for the platform to rise!


Upvotes

This was where I started, I didn't post nor did I comment anywhere, I just upvoted things I found interesting. I think this was a way for me get a grip of how the platform works socially wise.


Posts

About the posts, I still don't know what I'll be posting about, maybe about things I like, maybe about my life, maybe about my opinions... Anyways, I think the reward system for posting is what will appeal most people to come here from other platforms. However, most newcomers might also quit after a while of receiving no upvotes, so the future is still kind of open!


Comments

I have yet to comment. I prefer to do it for discussing purposes or if I find something really surprising and worth commenting. I can see it is a good way to get upvotes and followers, but I still haven't felt appealed to comment anywhere(partially because most posts here are about cryptocurrencies and I still have to learn a lot about it eheh), I still need to try it out! I understand though that many people comment just to get themselves more upvotes, and honestly that's ok to me, it works like that everywhere I guess. I probably still need to learn more about the people and the communities here and their receptiveness to things!


Trending

I think it is clear that the trending posts are dominated by cryptocurrencies! It's quite obvious since everyone here is either a crypto trader or an investor xD However, I think there's still lots of content to be explored, and a lot of niches to be discovered. I think there are a lot of opportunities for the most varied projects for the platform. (so find your own fast and be successful!)


Future

I'm quite new here to think about the future, but I think if one makes good posts daily or weekly, they are probably going to have a lot fun and make a good impact on the community.
Regarding the platform, it will probably have to deal with a lot of competition in the future, and only the decisions made for it, and how active the community is, will decide whether it will grow exponentially or be ran over by way bigger platforms.


I hope I didn't forget much of what I wanted to talk about, and I hope you enjoyed the post as much as I did writing it!
If you want to read more and are excited for what I might be doing in the future don’t forget to follow! See you soon
:)

img

Don't forget to leave your own experiences, thoughts and opinions in the comments below! :D
Images source: @profitgenerator

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit dude!

Hello, interestingly written, good luck! Come to my blog

Ahah thanks, actually English isn't my first language so it's nice to hear that!

Welcome to Steemit. I think you will like it. There are plenty of people who love talking about cryptocurrencies, but lots of other interests too. Have fun

Yeah I'm looking forward to it! Thanks

welcome on steeit

Welcome to our steemit family.Nice to see you here.Hope we can see creative post from you.Lets we be social on here.If you like please follow me too.Thanks dear...gif

Welcome to steemit, @bernardoamaral!

A great presentation!

My profile is @flashfiction and i would like to present you some links i found really useful when i first signed up here. They will make you start with the right foot on Steemit!

These links will all open on the SAME TAB (Yeah, i know...), so i recommend opening them with "right click->open in a new tab".

LinkCheckDescription
Growing FastTopYou HAVE to register here, if you want to build an audience FAST. It's a free service for boosting exposure, upvotes and followers. You just have to click on "login". Have your key at hand (That awfully long number you got when you signed up on Steemit). The tutorials are easy to follow.
All about steem coinsTopThere are three coins of use on Steemit, and understanding them is critical for your success. This is a short explaining video, the very best i've found.
MarkdownTopEven if you can use some basic HTML on your posts, the correct way to format them is NOT HTML. You use a marking ruleset called, yeah, "Markdown". Have this as a complete reference.
PostingMediumThe top activities on this site are posting, upvoting and commenting. This is an excellent tutorial about making your posts look great. Don't miss it!
UpvotingMediumYeah, you tought upvoting was just a matter of machine-gunning your clicks and make easy bucks. Nah. It is actually a little more complicated than that. All you need to know is here.
Better interfaceMediumLet's face it: The interface on Steemit is pretty basic. "Busy" is an alternate interface you can use, more polished and easy to navigate. Both of them can be used simultaneously. Again, you just have to login.
Using BotsMediumThere are a lot of things to learn about this platform, and understanding bots is one of the most important. They are little different services you can access for a fee. I found this tutorial extremely useful.
Trevon JamesMediumI know, i know... there are lots and lots of GREAT steemians here for picking one to recommend, but i just love Trevon's style. He explains EVERYTHING you need to know about Steemit (and crypto) in a funny, accesible way. Check him out.
@flashfictionAwesomeWell, duh. My profile! ;) I write short fiction and tutorials on creative writing. I would be honored if you'd follow me.

Anything i cand help you with, i'm at your service!

See you around!

Congratulations @bernardoamaral! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @bernardoamaral! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!