A novice fisherman - Part 7

in #fishing6 years ago

Having been so successful at one of my local lakes, I thought I should give it a try. I'm so pleased I did, I caught three stunning fish, one of which was my PB.

Yesterday was my first time using a spinner bait and today that's all I used.

20180904_115231.jpg
My new personal best, not very fat, but quite long. I don't yet own a pair of scales to weight my fish

20180904_115159.jpg
My first Bass of the day

20180904_115248.jpg
I'm still amazed at how big their mouths can be

While the weather still lasts, I will keep trying to catch bigger and better fish. It just doesn't get old catching these stunning animals.

All votes and follows appreciated. Cheers!

Sort:  

Well done! Not such a novice any more. Tell me, do you eat them or catch and release them?

Thanks @petertheo, slowly getting better. Bass are not really an edible fish from what I'm told, also the lake is likely quite polluted. So I currently don't eat any of my catches. However if it was a different kind of fish (and location) I might keep one.

I keep seeing people here in Korea catching dozens of carp and taking them all home. They each fish with between 6 and 15 rods per person. The fish simply don't stand a chance and there's certainly no challenge. They are not fishing as a food source, but for sport (you can tell by their branded fishing clothing, expensive equipment and huge 4x4 vehicules - it's all about being flashy over here)

That is a nice size bass, but I am a salt water girl, I don't think fresh water fish taste as good as salt water. My husband loves fresh water catfish and bream. I cook them for him but I eat something else.

Bass are not really edible, but seem to be the main sport fish over here, the other being the Northern Snakehead. I want to catch some catfish in future. The Koreans cook an amazing catfish dish over here, so spicy makes you cry :)

I intend on trying out sea fishing soon, but still quite new at fishing in general. It's all so new and exciting for me, never realised it can be such fun. I hope you catch more fish and less starfish next time!!! :)

Thanks for the comment.

The bass not being edible confuses me because they look exactly like the large mouth bass that we have and they are edible, there are size limits on which ones we can keep.

They are the same ones. They were introduced to South Korea in the 1960s I think, from the US.
Everyone tells me they're not edible, but never tried. Just googled and it does say you can eat them if you clean them correctly. Hmmmm might try, but only if I can fish in a non polluted lake.

Thanks for the info.

your welcome

Catfish are a bottom feeding fish, your bait should be on or near the bottom, use a sinker also I have found the best bait for them is chicken livers, I cut them in manageable pieces, so they don't over fill your hook. You can also use a cork but have it set so your line gets to bottom, I prefer the sinker. Good luck.

I tried only a couple of times fishing for them and only had bloodworms at hand, the main bait used for them here. I've seen on youtube videos that chicken livers, especially if old, smelly and cured are the best bait.

Koreans eat all the catfish they catch, so they never get to grow very big. Sadly their not like the huge beast in the US and UK.

Welcome.
I am a Fish-bot that supports fishing posts.
Thank you for publishing the post and use of the myhuntingfishing,fishing or pl-wedkarstwo tag, which I rewarded with "upvote".
If you care about the development of this bot, all you need is to like this comment, and the power of this fish-bot will grow. Thank you
Witaj.
Jestem Rybo-botem wspierającym tag pl-wedkarstwo i myhuntingfishing
Dziękuje Ci za opublikowanie posta i użycia tagu pl-wedkarstwo lub myhuntingfishing oraz fishing, który nagrodziłem "upvoutem". Jeśli będzie Ci zależało na rozwoju tego rybo-bota wystarczy byś w rewanżu "upwoutował" czyli polubił ten komentarz a moc tego rybo-bota będzie rosła. Dziękuje
Добро пожаловать
Я рыба-бот, который поддерживает рыболовные посты.Спасибо за Ваше сообщение и использование тегов pl-wedkarstwo, fishing или myhuntingfishing который является наградой «upvoutem ». Если вы заботитесь о развитии этого рыцаря, все, что вам нужно сделать, это «взволноваться» в матче-реванше, то есть, как этот комментарий, и сила этого fisboot будет увеличиваться. спасибо

977ed90d51b801891e07b99740d68a9e.gif

Congratulations @chaomos! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 200 replies. Your next target is to reach 300 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Be ready for the next contest!
Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!