South Padre Island deep sea fishing in Texas

in #fishing7 years ago

P7250470.JPG

I went to south Padre Texas to go deep sea fishing and to visit the beach. This time we were fishing for Atlantic sharp nose shark instead of red snapper. They had a limit on the shark, only one per person. The shark was pretty good eating as well, and they did put up a good fight. I believe we were about 50 miles offshore. It was 85 bucks a person for a 8 hour trip, and the name of the boat was the Osprey. Everybody on the boat caught a shark so it was a good day for sure250.JPG
It was also my wife and daughters first time deep sea fishing so it was very new to them. It took them some time to get used to the boat rocking back and forth. They did great on the boat and both enjoyed it. P7250467.JPG
Some other fish that someone caught in the area. There were lots of fisherman that's for sure. Pretty neat to see all the different fish people caught.
203.JPG
Picture of all the sharks that people caught on the boat . These sharks don't get much bigger than what you see here. They taste a lot different than other sharks from what I tasted.
257.JPG
I seen some big boats when I was out there. There lots of oil rigs way out off the shoreline along the coast, you cant see them from shore there about 60 mile off shore. I don't know what this boat was but it was big.P7240443.JPG
I think this was a local fisherman boat or shrimp boat. P7240451.JPG
We had taken a tour of the bay to watch some dolphins but got no pictures of them but did get some pictures of the stuff they pulled up from the net they dragged. The dolphins would just jump in front of the boats as they were cruising along. They were to hard to get pictures of them.
P7240430.JPG
The tour was 20 bucks a person and 2 hours long. I though it was going to be lame but the tour was fun actually.P7240429.JPG
My wife thought that this flounder fish has something wrong with it. I had to tell her that this fish looks like this because it lives on the bottom of the ocean floor.
P7240432.JPG
This fish is like a sucker fish that hangs on other fish like sharks cleaning them. Its some kind of Remora fish I believe.P7240434.JPG
This is a baby trigger fish. I have caught bigger ones and there kinda weird looking fish, has a bill like a parrot.
P7240433.JPG
I don't know if this is real or not but definitely I think twice about swimming real deep in the ocean. I had fun time and cant wait till come back for some red snapper. I may even try one of there longer fishing trips to see if they catch bigger stuff. I know that this deep sea fishing is fun for sure , you just never know what your going to pull out of the ocean. Its always keeps me wandering what lurks down there!!P7250485.JPG

Sort:  

wow huge fish

I wonder if anyone noticed the date that shark was caught?

This post received a 2.0% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @dannyboyjr! For more information, click here!

It's good to see quality photos from fishing.