Nice Lai (Leatherback) Caught on the Big Island of Hawaii

in #fishing4 years ago

a.png

It was a short day of fishing yesterday because my body was getting kind of tired from all of the fishing that I have been doing.

I only stayed out for an hour and the bite was pretty good.

The best fish I cause was this nice sized Lai which I love to eat pan fried in Garlic Butter.

It was a great fight and a delicious meal.

Sort:  

Looks like a type of Jack. Very similar in appearance to the Yellowtail we have here off the coast of SoCal.

Yes it is from the Jack family.

I want to learn how to fish and catch my own meals too! What do you recommend I start? Is there a specific rod I should use for certain fishes?

It all depends on your area and type of fish. I always recommend going to your local fishing supply store and talk to the people that fish your waters. I do prefer a slightly longer pole than most people use in my area.

Congratulations @fishhawaii! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You are a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Introducing HiveBuzz Shop - Offer gifts with your favorite badges
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!