Tuesday Fishing Adventure

in #fishing7 years ago

Kids and Fishing

It is always so special to watch your kids learn and grow. The joy they bring when a discovery is made is overwhelming sometimes. When you are the one that leads them to that discovery, it is that much more special. Teaching children life skills is not what schools do, so, it is up to us as parents to fill the enormous gaps in their education. This brings me to today's fishing adventure.

My kids shared in the bounty I caught yesterday, and they re-caught the fishing bug. So, this morning upon rising, my youngest started bugging me to take them fishing today. You don't have to bug me much, by the way. We looked at the fish forecast and decided that 3 p.m. was the best time to get bit.

Well, 3 p.m. rolled around, and, like a good person does, I kept my word to take them to the lake. We arrived to find it drizzling but that wasn't a deterrent, I had thought to bring their rain gear. We got to the dock to find it empty, which is not its usual state. We arrived and started fishing and the rain began to increase in intensity. The girls put on their rain coats and we continued.

My littlest complained that she couldn't see her bobber, that was because she had a fish on! She fought it valiantly and got it all the way to the dock before I had to help her because she is shorter than the railing. She had caught a monster!

20170725_172529_HDR.jpgPrincess "Jewel" with her whopper

The rain got pretty hard after that and I said earlier that I had thought to bring the kids' rain gear, I didn't think I would need any. Our rainstorms do not frequently last more than 20 minutes. This one lasted...it's still raining at 9:37 p.m. so all day. I was soaked and uncomfortably cold as the wind picked up as well, so, I had to end the trip. Both girls had a blast despite the poor fishing, so, it was a net win. Princess "Jewel" has now caught her 4th fish, her first Colorado fish! Princess "Jewellia" is still in the hunt for her first, but, she is confident of that happening soon. She has the mechanics down, she just needs patience.


I am considering re-opening the kidfishingchallenge, I am also considering doing a local kidfishingchallenge at one of the two lakes in my neighborhood. I really think that every kid should learn to fish and if I can get the interest, I can give rod/reel combos to less advantaged children.


Thank you for stopping by today. I will see you next time. Love ya!

Sort:  

I got a bellyRub and this post has received a 8.97 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @matthewtiii.

The princess seems to happy (: god bless

She was so thrilled! It makes my day to see that look!

This is a beautiful post. Your daughters are blessed to have a dad who takes pride and joy in their lives. It's wonderful to see and congrats to Jewell on her monster-fish!

This post received a 3.2% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @matthewtiii! For more information, click here!