Fishing in Croatia - Mahi Mahi & more..

in #fishing6 years ago (edited)

Fishing has always been my passion, be it big game or even just small fish, and since my family owns an apartement in Croatia, i've been going there nearly every summer. The place I always visit is called Selce, a small town near Rijeka.

Matej Paluh.PNG
Photo Credits: Matej Paluh, October 2015

Selce is basically my fishing paradise, going there my entire life just to fish in the summer.

Last year in september, i was lucky enough to get my hands on some "Mahi Mahi" or "Dolphins", as some may call them. As Beautiful as they are, they are also very strong and fast predators. Once They arrived in Selce to breed, i tried to catch them with fresh sardines, they didnt seem to like that much though. After days of failure i was thinking about what might work, and once i've tried pulling a squid arm behind the boat, they sure loved it i tell you.

received_1076564989047745.jpeg

Once one of them was on my line, i realized one thing. They are fast. And how fast they are. No matter how hard i tried to reel in faster than the mahi, swimming in my direction, it was always faster than me. It is also interesting how they behave if one of them is on the line. When i had it near the boat, i looked in the water and saw a whole school of mahi, chasing the one I'm hooked on and wondering whats going on.

Mahi are delicious fish, skinned and grilled, just a little salt and olive oil and its perfect.

Well, i've also been fishing for common Dentex, but i sadly had no luck. A friend of mine, however, was full of luck this year.

IMG_20170721_082609-2976x164.jpg
Small one, but it counts ;)

My friend also caught a even smaller one in a trap. It has now a new home in the aquarium in Crikvenica, a nearby city.

IMG_20170721_114103.jpg
I love the lines on its body that become visible underwater.

That same friend of mine is always fishing with the longline method, and he's got himself quite a unique catch last year.

received_1054020341302210.jpeg

A baby Blue Shark. As cute as it looks, this beast ripped holes in our parasol without any problems. It was released once this photo was taken. So cute tho...

Anyway, I hope you enjoyed my post, and may the fish be with you.

Deutsche Version

Sort:  

Wow.... looks like an adventure... this is just not part of Croatia that most people see on blogs.. your photos are great too

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @pseox2016 to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!