I Incline Benched 230lb

in #fitnesslast year (edited)

My PR is 255 lb from 2020. 230lb is the highest I have gone since my distal bicep tendon tear and reconnection surgery.

I moved the weight fast and it felt like light weight. I could have went up to 245lb but I stopped there and I'm moving up a little slower. I don't need to be strong today or tomorrow. I need to be strong in 3 months.

I have calculated in the past that I'm in the upper 1% of natural strength and power (Non Performance Enhanced) in the entire world.

I typically can lift more than my body weight more than a dozen different ways. I weighed in at 215lb yesterday. I'm ready to get back to doing cleans. My knee just needs to get a little better. 2022 was rough in the fact that I had the two surgeries. Bicep tendon and complex tear in my medial meniscus.

Sort:  

Wow! You could get back to the gym so soon! Take it easy!

It's getting there

Weight training is weird.

You would think, lifting all you can, as fast as you can would be the best.
But it is usually not.

Like, lift a certain weight until both sides of your body feels that it is equally light.
Like, lifting slow and smoothly often gives a better work out.
Like sometimes taking a week off can get you that gain after you plateaued. (and sometimes not)

For some, it is dumbbells, for other barbells, for other it is throwing heavy tires around that works.

I wish there was more weight lifting channels that actually covered the gamut and showed why certain things work for certain people, and what to detail for you.

It is a tough situation because how people's bodies respond is different and the sleep factor, and diet factor is huge as well. Also each individual almost has to go through this period of testing their abilities and will ultimately get over trained to understand that threshold and when their CNS is shot.

Also depending what someone is training for. I'm setting myself up for explosive athletic output with a splash of physique as a secondary by product.

If I was just going for a good physique I feel like that is easier in a lot of ways but more painful from a diet stand point.

Check out the blog i wrote in reply to your housing questions
and reply with what more you need explained so i can write more.

https://hive.blog/hive-123046/@builderofcastles/the-pieces-involved-in-refurbishing-an-older-home

Good for you man! I'm trying to get my flat bench back up to 315 for reps this year. 👍

That would be awesome. I made my attempt at 315 in 2021. Hit 305 and was very close on 315 but strained my peck slightly and backed off it. That was raw. No wrist wraps and not using the aggressive back arch, belt, or sling shot or anything. My power to weight ratio isn't as good on Bench as some of my other lifts. I hit 340lb on front squats below parallel and I would say that is one of my more impressive PRs.