Workout of the Day - Chest

in #fitness6 years ago (edited)

Tuesday, May 8, 2018


I was somewhat pressed for time this morning, so I didn't get in as many exercises as I would have liked and I had to cut down my mobility work. Which is fine... don't get me wrong. Sometimes life gets in the way- the key is to keep working towards your goals. I'll likely go for a run with the pup and do some additional mobility work tonight, and maybe hit up my apartment's gym for some more chest work with dumbbells.

With that being said, I did have a great workout and felt that I put in enough effort for some change. Recently I've been beginning my chest routine with incline barbell bench press, which I continued to do today. I think I'll probably stick with this protocol a while longer because I still feel as though I'm getting stronger every time I bench- whether it's just how I feel, the weight I'm lifting, or the reps I'm hitting. Check out below for the rest of today's routine and follow me to check out my daily workout!

Warm up:

Arm Circles
Lightweight Shoulder Press
Pec Flys with band
Pushups – 2x10
Incline Benchpress - 2x12 (Barbell Only)

Strength Training:

Incline Bench Press – 4x10-12
Bench Press – 4x10-12
Pec Deck – 4x10-12
Superset:
GHD Exentions 3x10
Sorenson Holds 3x10seconds


Mobility/Stretching – Roughly 5 minutes

Warm Up

Worlds Greatest Stretch – 1:00

Mobility

Walkouts to Push-Ups – 0:30
YTW – 0:30
Lateral Hip Openers – 0:30
Walkouts to Push-Ups – 0:30
YTW – 0:30
Lateral Hip Openers – 0:30
Walkouts to Push-Ups – 0:30
YTW – 0:30
Lateral Hip Openers – 0:30


Make sure you’re picking and choosing your exercises based on your goals. Do your research and improve your weaknesses!

Remember, your form should come first in everything you do in the gym. Don’t use momentum to get the weight up, don’t cheat your full range of motion (unless it’s on purpose), and don’t lift with your ego. If you can't hit your reps on the bench press without bouncing the weight off your chest, you need to either lower your weight or lower your reps.

Love the process.



Fitness | Nutrition | Pro 2A | Dog Lover | Motorcycles | Crypto