Train with me! #1 - Build legs & glutes

in #fitness7 years ago (edited)

Hi steemit friends,

Welcome to my first workout post! Jump in and train with me! :)

1-Steem-Workout-Cover.jpg

Before starting I would like to thank you for your warm welcome after my introduction post. If you don’t know me and chances are you don’t, here it is: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@sofietness/introducing-myself-train-with-me

Today I’m sharing my legday workout. All the equipment you need for this workout is a barbell with weight plates or dumbbells. If it is the first time you do these exercises, do not use weights.

I made a short video that shows you the execution of all exercises. I’m using Dtube for the first time. I hope you enjoy it! https://dtube.video/#!/v/sofietness/getq58d2

As you have seen in the video, I have performed 3 exercices. Let’s analyze them one by one:

1. Foot elevated single leg hip thrust

I did 3 sets of 15 repetitions of foot elevated single leg hip thrust. I have performed 15 reps with each leg and then took a rest of 60 seconds. I repeated this 3 times.

foot-elevated-single-let-hip-thrust.png

How to:
  1. lie in front of the bench with your left foot on the bench and the right foot off the floor
  2. push your hips up toward the ceiling with your left heel until you have a straight line from the back to the left knee
  3. lower back to the starting position and repeat for the desired reps
Tips:
  • push through your heel on the bench
  • push with the glutes not the lower back
  • don't overarch or curve the lumbar spine

2. Walking lunges

This is one of my favorite leg exercise but it might produce a lot of soreness if you are not used to perform it. I have done 3 sets of 16 reps (8 each side) with 60 seconds of rest. You can also perform this exercise by holding dumbbells each side.

walking-lunges.png

How to:
  1. stand with your feet hip-width apart
  2. step forward with your right foot and lower down until your left knee almost touches the floor
  3. alternate between right and left steps in a forward walking motion
Tips:
  • step forward far enough so that your knee do not exceed your toe
  • move down so that the front leg creates a 90 degree angle
  • keep your torso in position and don't let your hips rise before the shoulders

3. Barbell single leg deadlift

You really should be incorporating this exercise to your leg routine because it works balance, coordination, hamstring flexibility and core stability. I performed 3 sets of 10 reps on each leg and then I took a rest of 60 seconds. If the balance is too difficult you can hold onto something stable.

barbell-single-leg-rdl.png

How to:
  1. start in a standing position with the weight shifted to one leg
  2. hinge at the hips and keep the bar close to your quads. As you lower the weight, bring your back leg up
  3. lower the bar until you align your back leg with your spine
  4. raise back slowly lowering your back leg and returning to standing position
  5. repeat for the desire reps and then switch legs
Tips:
  • keep your core stable and don't allow your back to round
  • keep the bar close to quads
  • sit back just as you would with a regular deadlift

The most important thing about weight training is to master quality movement patterns. It isn't just moving but how you execute the exercise that matters.

That’s it for today! I hope you enjoyed watching/reading this workout as much as I enjoyed making it. Your feedack is more than welcome!

Happy training! :)

Sofie

Sort:  

This post is a duplicate of https://steemit.com/dtube/@sofietness/getq58d2
I tried Dtube for the first time and didn't know it automatically creates a post on Steemit when uploading a video on Dtube ;)

I see you do also legs. This is very good, most guys do mostly the upper body, ignoring the lower one.

Hi @alexvan! Indeed I love training legs and I dedicate 3 workouts per week for legs and glutes. I train my upper body twice per week and I do one session of yoga for flexibility

This post has received a 4.25 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @alexvan

@boomerang distributes 100% of the SBD and up to 80% of the Curation Rewards to STEEM POWER Delegators. If you want to bid for votes or want to delegate SP please read the @boomerang whitepaper.