Flash Back Friday Gone And Mostly Forgotten

IMG_20180414_115353.jpg

It is rather odd how things are a part of everyday life then they just disappear and it is never even noticed.
When I was a kid learning to tie shoes was a big milestone. Do kids even tie their shoes any more? Probably not.

When @bashadow came up with a new #flashbackfridays tag It made me consider all of the things that nobody thinks about anymore.

On the other hand there were many strange things that remain a mystery. Just small things like there were only 3 major television networks and a public broadcast station. But all of the televisions had a little dile with up to 30 channels of dead space.

The remote control came along with cable television. The little diles were replaced by buttons and those extra channels are long gone and forgotten.

Speaking of little diles these poor kids have no clue what a dile even is.

Party lines and long distance where also quickly forgotten. Long distance really wasn't very much distance either. Often just the next town over was an extra long distance charge.
Party lines were not nearly as much fun as the name suggest either. It only means that often when picking up the receiver the neighbor down the street would be on the line.

Wonder how many things we do every day will soon be gone and forgotten? With the advances in artificial intelligence and nanotechnology the possibilities are endless.

Sort:  

The phone is not what it used to be. From rotary dialing to push button phoning, to now not even God can figure it all out Smart Phones.

Yeah I am pretty sure ninety percent of the features on my phone are just wasted on me. Great idea for a tag by the way. Maybe I will remember to hit it again one friday.
The flashback is a theme with a lot of possibilities to play with.
Mine was just a quick freewrite you did an awesome write up about the time frame.

I just hope I remember next friday. I think I am going to be having fun with it, and it is a tag that makes for a somewhat meaningful post, and can include a lot of things, not just year in review things but things like the phone, a movie, a book, an invention, an idea from the past. There is such a wide range of possibilities. I think you and @beckieg did awesome jobs for a new tag idea, I really appreciated the entries from both of you.

I will try to remember next week too! This one could really take off I think. Just because the possibilities are endless.
Are you going to play the IFC next season? I am thinking about it. Just because I keep wanting to play around with some fiction.
You did some really awesome posts for ifc last season.

Right now, yes I think I will be back for season two. I had a lot of fun playing, and it gave me some great post to make. I struggle with creating content sometimes, as I am more of a consumer type than a creator type, so I liked that aspect of @IFC. We had to do a post to play, I hope it stays primarily that way. I think there were only a couple of rounds that did not require a post, they were very fun comment rounds, but the post, lots of thinking and reading involved.

Congrats I just saw this was my 10,000th comment check your wallet in a few minutes.

I often have tons of ideas and just have trouble staying focused to get a post done. Maybe I will get better about that part in time.
They seem like a terrific group from what I see so far. And the themes they pick are very intriguing as well.

Wow thank you!!! And congratulations on your comment count. So very nice of you.

10000 comments.png

My thank you for being an engaging steemian. Without people, there would be no one to make comments to.

Congratulations @headchange! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

The only things that I really missed out because I just have it for a few days is Pager 😊 do you know pager?

For sure they were very common around here before cell phones. They were useful for keeping up with business calls without being tied to the home or office phone. I had forgotten all about pagers.
My father loved electronics he had a whole room just for his hobby. Filled with C.B. radios police scanners, ham radio ect
I guess I am the same but my room holds things a bit more updated

I guess I am the same but my room holds things a bit more updated

Like that father's daughter😉 I've never had a chance to own a pager😅 but we had one for the student senat president that time, and I was once became a caretaker of his position for 3 days and hold it during that days, but.. who will paging someone who always at the office and near the dial up phone? So.. I never know how to use it😊

Oh that is so funny🔊 I am surprised though. I am pretty sure I would have created the chance to use it at least once just because.
Guess you weren't as sneaky back then. 👿

No, I am not a sneaky one that time 😊 a nice girl with powerfull voice and "a charisma" 😂 when new students met me, they thought that I'd spanked at them for no reason😔 and I have no clue how'd that happened.

We have our own dial up phone (land line) at home in 2000 but I got my first handphone in 1999😊 the telephone, pager and handphone are so expensive and luxurious for us. But I like the beep beep on the pager😉 that's why sometimes I went to the public phone (coin's phone which only remained in our memories) to sent a message to pager for myself 😂😂😂😂

I actually miss the tactile feel of a rotary phone. And when my family couldn't afford a house phone, I ran down to the payphone a lot. What do people do now? Sure there are "Obama phones," but that program existed since Reagan in the 80s (and Bush II extended it to cell phones; Obama just changed how it was funded), but either my parents didn't know about it or were too proud to take it (like they were too proud for food stamps).

It really was a very different time and mindset back then. Now it seems like no big deal at all because such a large percentage of the population are on some form of assistance. Back then there were many more jobs available and a very strong stigma associated with not having one.
We actually do still have a few old payphones around here. That one in the picture not only works but is often used.
I at times miss being untethered. It really wasn't so long ago that if you weren't home you were unavailable for calls.
But then I am a bit of a quirky introvert so my thinking is a bit odd.

Wow, lol.. Don't see those very often anymore! I feel so old. We used to have one at the park by our house that the neighborhood kids would use to prank call peoples. Some interesting stories. Heh. Speaking of "time flying> this is another interesting synchronicity.

Well fancy seeing you here 👹 Did you notice we were talking about the ifc in the comments?
Oh no I bet you did the old "prince Albert in a can" Just another small joke that is probably forgotten by now.

howdy this fine Saturday night headchange! when I was growing up on the farm in Kansas we had a party line system, man was that a pain because you could never use the phone unless it was late at night when the old bittys had gone to bed.
Was this post one of those 5 minute things or one of those things where they give you a topic and you have to write on that subject? And if it was, who in their right mind would do that?

Those old biddies probably thought you were a snot nosed brat. No this was me giving some support to bashadows new tag for flashback fridays.
But then you are way to busy padding the throne to know about any community projects right? Asher has suggested taking a saw to that throne 😛

headchange! you actually stayed up later than me last night! wow and you talk about me being busy! I went to bed early while you were still working? is the world upside down now?
community projects..what's that? that's why I need you to help me, I talk to community leaders sometimes but I think they wisely keep me away from their plans so I don't poison anything! lol.

what about Asher? more stuff that I don't know? you're like one of the biddys on the phone line, you know what's going on everywhere..which is a good thing.

You are too funny. What you been up to anyway? Probably your normal mischeif. It is the time zone thing again. I got up at 2 this morning but that justifies a nap later.
I honestly do try to tell you about any events that may be of benefit for account growth. I know you have been working on that a lot.
On the other hand not my fault if you pay me no mind right/?
But for real do keep up with your mentions in one way or other.
I may not always be there to see it when someone wants to give you money.
You would have let the curie comment challenge go right over your head if our buddy didn't inform you.
I guess it ain't easy being comment king though.

hhaha! no I already had heard about the curie comment contest and had looked at it and was going to check it out again when he said something, but that's okay I'll let him take credit but he didn't tell me about it like he thinks because I was already looking at it.
he may have got me into it a week earlier than I would have but it was such a natural for me that I figured I was getting in.

what happened to you last week? man, talk about crash and burn! geez that was a disaster. see..that's what you get for not talking to me, I could have helped get you back in the green.

we can start now if you want to get back there! lol.

account growth? yes I have to grow it. I have Mrs. J watching and doubtful and the best way to help the most people is to grow big enough to have something to help them WITH.

I guess that is why you don't see me around the engagement threads as much. All the ins and outs of different things I want to be involved with takes a little time out of the comment race.
I have managed to hit 116sp and almost 13 steem. But I think I am about to spend some on minnowbuilder shares.
I also want to help sponsor a new minnow at the first of the week.
On the other hand I usually enjoy our banter
I usually wonder what you are up to if I don't see you for a day or two.
The hardfork is coming up and I want to have at least 120 sp before then.
You must type a lot faster than me or something. Seems like if I start typing with people time slips away before I know it.

headchange what is the importance of having 120 sp before the hardfork?

if you don't see me for a day or two? well the only way you couldn't see me was if you didn't comment on the posts that I comment on..come to think of it we do pretty much comment on alot of different posts don't we?
unfortunately I'm quite a slow typist. but time goes by so fast when I start commenting, it's amazing!

Excellent @headchange! This is such a fun challenge. I'm glad I saw your post. While I'm sure a lot of today's modern gadgets will be outdated in time to come. There's certain things that I don't think will ever get old. Like a good old fashioned cup of coffee with company! And yes, I do tie my shoe laces but I guess as a homesteader we are still a little out dated. Sorry for the late comment our internet crashed because of amazing rain! And then I've had my hands full with the first baby goat of the season. I named her Rain

Oh the baby is here? That is much more exciting than any old thing forgotten. I will be around to see because I just know there will be pics coming. And rain a huge abundance of blessing all in one go. Hope this means a turn around.

You bet! Only the first little girl goatie but the others will be close on her heels.
https://steemit.com/homesteading/@buckaroo/brandy-rain

Greetings @headchange! Your post was randomly chosen and was resteemed because you are one of our followers. Enjoy your free resteem!

Love what we do? By upvoting this notification, you're supporting @Shareables. If you need more information about us, click here.

If you wish to stop receiving this comment, please do unfollow us.

Shareables - We resteem anything we find shareable. Always strive for quality content. Go on express and harness your blogging potential!

God bless from us @Shareables!