#FollowTheWriter - Week 2: Write to WIN STEEM like last weeks 3 Winners!!!

in #followthewriter7 years ago (edited)

img

Finally: it's monday! That means a new #FollowTheWriter week :)

Last week marked the start of this exciting contest. Super duper quick recap:

"I'll provide 3 writing prompts right now, out of which the contestants can choose and write their entry. Every following week, the contestants will continue the story of last weeks winner."

However, voting didn't result in a clear winner. So now I have to improvise.
All three submissions will receive 3,33 SBD, instead of just 5 SBD for the winner!
@improv, @dbzfan4awhile and @mariebauwens, you are all winners in my book. :)

Proof of payment:

This week, the rules are simple:

  • Continue the story of last weeks winners.
  • Submit your entry as a reply to the story you are continuing below.
  • If you want you can write an entry for each of the three stories.

As always:

  • Original content only.
  • Feel free to edit your story until the deadline.
  • Deadline: Sunday the 2nd of July, 21:00 CEST. (Next Sunday evening, EU time)
  • You keep all the rights to your story.
  • If you enjoy this contest, consider upvoting and resteeming. Also, if you're totally awesome, you may follow me ;).

I will choose the story I like best, the winner will receive 5 SBD.

Best of luck everyone! I look forward to your entries. Let's have some fun writing.
If you have any questions, leave them in the comments.


#FollowTheWriter Contest: Week 1 - Week 2


Kind regards.
Follow me @beordo or learn about me.

Sort:  

Reply to this entry to continue @mariebauwens’s story.


Shady Transaction

Give me a moment, trying to find my words.

Been a long night.

It all began 17 years ago, 2238. Seems like a lifetime ago. ELKON they called it. Promised it would replace the need for food. Just one little pill. Invention of the century. Food shortages were as common as polluted air back then.

So, eh, sorry, I’m a little out of breath.

Yeah, in the beginning.

For a while, everything was great. No more need for food, who could be against that? Seems like the greatest invention of all time, doesn’t it? That’s what we thought. Took two years. Hallucinations, it happens you know. Nobody suspected it with ELKON. But when the looney bins started filling up…

And there were other side effects too. Memory loss, convulsions. Some just went plain old crazy. Going back to eating food though, no way. Food production was way down, but even then, people wouldn’t have traded their daily dose for gold if you asked them to.

Always told them not to touch it. To stay away from that poison. They would listen, couldn’t really. Called me crazy, a lunatic. Well, this crazy lunatic just managed to buy one of the last pure doses of ELKON. Gonna save all of humanity! Or maybe I’ll feed it to my cat. Who knows… I’m crazy, right?

Loading...

I thought it was just an over-powered weight-loss pill. I was wrong. It is that, yes, but it's so much more.

It not only puts your metabolism into hyper drive, it also gives you extreme amounts of energy. That's what I thought, at least, when I started using it. I was so filled with energy every day that I couldn't believe how much weight I had already lost: over 245 Lbs! I became an advocate and marketer of the stuff, spending as much as I was earning just to keep my supplies in order and to keep myself up with my own supplies.

The problem, though, was that people became quickly addicted to the pills and would do just about anything to get them. Now people were all over the place, and nobody seems able to focus, except for the few strange people that stay away from it.

Those, we call Slow-Mos. Or, at least, we used to.

Now, though, I can already feel it kicking in again.

I feel the pace quicken. I feel my heart pound. I feel the jolts of adrenaline. I feel. I feel. I feel.

So much just wanting to pop out. I need to do something with it. I know, I don't like the way that guy...

I kicked him in the stomach. He was a Slow-Mo. I kept on kicking him. My foot buried deep in his abdomen. I cried. I couldn't stop. The man was just grunting now. The energy slowly seeped out of my system and I could breathe again.

I looked down and closed my eyes, suppressing more tears. This last pill. If I took it, I'm sure I'll die... just like the hundreds of others that had already kicked it. Was I the last one alive? I don't know, but I know what I'm going to do with this pill now.

Well, they call me crazy.

If the world is insane... you know the rest.

ELKON isn't what you think. It's not a nutritional pill. It's not a hunger inhibitor. It literally changes your body chemistry so that you absorb calories and nutrition from everything you touch. You need fiber? Remember that time you washed your Hummer? Remember that towel? It's a little smaller now. You need vitamin C? The "citrus smell" had just enough to keep you from getting scurvy.

But humans can't handle that. They handle starvation better than they handle not NEEDING to eat. So the pills started changing, inducing hunger that wasn't necessary. You'd walk by a cafeteria full of people eating cardboard. Children ate rocks and dirt. And I...

Not yet.

My one dose. I found it mixed in with expired acetaminophen. I almost popped it in my mouth.

But I didn't. It sits in a ring case, like some fantasy engagement ring. Maybe I'll marry scientific progress and we'll have beautiful, needless children. We'll bicker some, but he'll always be right. Because he's got science on his side.

Today, I walked down the street, eyes peeled for things that are actually edible. I picked some dandelions and lambsquarter. The irony is, there's plenty of food for me now. No one's growing food on purpose anymore, but the rock eaters aren't even bothering to eat eat what's edible.

I hustled back home, clutching my vegetables. I needed to find something for the cat.

Loading...
Loading...

Big thanks @beordo! Looking forward to more stories!

Thank YOU for writing your story! You can also participate this week, maybe even on @mariebauwens' or @dbzfan4awhile's story if you like them ;)

Oh dude very cool, I will definitely participate in a couple of these. Looking forward to more : ). Upvoted, followed and re-steemed

Thanks man, excited for your entry!

This post received a 2.4% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @beordo! For more information, click here!

Woooh JACKPOT! Thanks @randowhale!

Wow, that's more than I've gotten from good ole @randowhale.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Beordo from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Congratulations @beordo! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This needs more attention.

That was a lot of fun! Thanks for this opportunity! I look forward to reading everyone's stories. Take care.

It's really a good idea !!