Cashew Chocolate Chip Cookie Bars

in #food6 years ago

This is such an easy recipe. Extra easy if you have a food processor, but it's totally doable by hand. I did it by hand!

Ingredients:
1C nut butter (I used cashew. It's easier if your nut butter bus room temp, but I did it with cold and it worked, it's just a lot harder to mix)

1 Egg

5 TBSPs sugar (I used a mix of maple sugar and coconut sugar, but any kind will work. I like my sweets on the low sugar side, so if you want it really sweet add an extra 2 or 3 TBSPs )

A handful of chocolate chips

1tsp vanilla extract

1/2tsp sea salt (I used pink salt)

Instructions:

  1. Beat the egg with the sugar until well combined.

  2. Then mix in the nut butter, salt, and vanilla until you get a smooth batter. Do this in a food processor to make it fast and easy. If you do it by hand it will take a little while. If your nut butter is cold, you'll want to kind of mash it up with a wooden spoon as you stir it in. If the nut butter doesn't totally incorporate, it's ok. As long as it's about 85% mixed in, it'll still work, and the bars will have little pockets of creamy nut butter. That's how mine turned out and I liked it.

  3. Fold in the chocolate chips (or any other mix ins like fruits or nuts)

  4. Grease a small baking dish (if you want thick bars use a small dish, if you want thin bars use a larger dish.)

  5. Bake at 375F for 12min

  6. Let cool for about 10min before slicingIMG_20180613_184049505.jpg