An amazing street dish in Bali

in #food7 years ago

So what was the best thing you’ve ate on your journey?

A question I often got from family and friends after my journey around the world in 2014. When the question was asked for the first time I had to reconsider all those distinct dishes I had encountered: Steamboat in Malaysia, Dumplings in Singapore’s Chinatown, Lovo in Fiji, Semur Lida (beef tongue) and chicken saté in Indonesia, crocodile spring rolls and kangaroo steak in Australia, A Fergburger in New-Zealand and poutine in Canada. Nowadays I have my answer ready, a dish so delicious and special, although I have no clue what particular ingredients are in it!   As of 2014/2015 the name of the warung is Rakyat, unfortunately it cannot be found on Google, see the pictures below to make sure you found the right place: the restaurant was paved with white floor tiles, funiture included cheap green plastic chairs and clean light wooden tables. The cooking area was located next to the street side, while the seating area was located behind it.      

Kang kung in Bali

In the street where my hotel was located in Jimbaran were three or four small warungs managed by locals. The one my friend and I decided to have dinner hit the mark. My friend told me to try the kang kung and up until this day I have not regretted that decision. Whenever you are in Bali you should try this dish in the specific warung I went to, because I think the quality of the dish might vary greatly among the many small restaurants in Bali.  

Kang Kung is a dish that consists of morning glory. Apart from that my wok dish in Jimbaran included tomatoes, chili peppers, garlic, ginger and an amazing sauce (I still have no clue what it was). Finally, it was served with a small amount of rice. In total, I had to pay 22000 Indonesian Rupiah, at that time less than two euro!

So where is this warung located?  

Rent your moped in Bali and eat here when you are on your way to Pura Ulawatu and/or Padang Beach. I promise you, you will not be dissapointed! The warung is located on the main street towards Ulawatu/Jimbaran, namely Jalan Raya Uluwatu. Find the MaxOnehotel and from there it’s only 30-50 more meters in the Uluwatu temple direction, located at the same side as the MaxOnehotel. Unfortunately I cannot show you a google street map image, because those 100 meters are not included in Google Street View (and I have no clue why).

As of 2014/2015 the name of the warung is Rakyat, unfortunately it cannot be found on Google, see the pictures below to make sure you found the right place: the restaurant was paved with white floor tiles, funiture included cheap green plastic chairs and clean light wooden tables. The cooking area was located next to the street side, while the seating area was located behind it.  

If you did tried this dish when you were in Bali let me know your experience!

~Aerials

Sort:  

Congratulations @aerials! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!