@allaboutpastries: Part of My Mission on Steemit is to Educate in all Aspects of Pastry, so, Here is My Complete Guide to Making Crepes. Plus More of Your Interesting Posts.

in #food7 years ago

I love crepes.  Fat ones, thin ones, in fact, any shape or form; they are so versatile and very simple to do.

Source

If you want fat ones just make your batter thicker, thin ones ...... your batter thinner; oh, and a well seasoned pan so they don't stick!

Then, fill them with whatever you fancy;

sweet:

Source

or savoury: 

Source

.......it is up to you.

When I decide I just have to have a crepe I always make extra, then layer them up with a small piece of greaseproof paper between each one, and freeze the stack.  I can then have crepes whenever I want, just remove from the 'stash', allow to thaw, then fill; as easy as that!

Crepe Batter Recipe:

Ingredients you require:

For each egg used

1 heaped tablespoon of plain (all purpose) flour

Milk added to the thickness of crepe required.

Method:

Break the eggs into a medium sized bowl.

Add the flour using the ratio of: 1 egg : 1 heaped tablespoon flour.

Stir this together (a small whisk is handy here though you don't need to over whisk as this will remove the eggs raising ability).

Add the milk.  

Gently whisk, adding more milk until it is the thickness required (I generalise by saying: as thick as single (half and half) cream for thin crepes; double (heavy) cream, for thicker crepes.   If you want wafer thin crepes - as thick as milk)!

Set aside for an hour to settle (I find that the batter thickens slightly during this resting time so you might need to add a little extra milk.  Purists say you should use half milk and half water when making batter, I leave that up to you).

Once the batter is rested and you have adjusted the consistency, it is time to: 

Cook your crepes:

I do not like to over butter my pan (I don't want greasy crepes), so I make a little ball out of a piece of kitchen paper, run that over the butter, and lightly grease my pan with it.  No problems then with melting pastry brush bristles!

When your pan is up to heat (It needs to be moderately hot), Add enough batter to cover your pan base.  (As my batter is thin I only need a couple of tablespoons of batter, which I quickly swirl around to cover the base of the pan.  You have to be quick or your batter will begin to cook where you have poured it).

When the top begins to bubble turn over your crepe.  (I use a large palette knife to do this, none of your 'tossing' for me)!

Have a plate ready by your side to receive your cooked crepes.  Repeat the process until all of your batter is used up.  (Stack them on top of each other at this stage, they wont stick.  You only need to separate them with a bit of greaseproof paper when you want to freeze them.  It makes it easy to separate them when frozen).

Now you have your stash of crepes, what are you going to do with them?

My next post will show you two ways to use your crepes......

one savoury:

Chicken, Baked in a Savoury Sauce:

and one sweet:

Zingy Lemon Crepes:

I hope you will return to view the recipes.

Now for more of....

Your Interesting Posts

Just click on the highlighted blue to be taken straight to the Post.

@clove71 gives us a really interesting take on Southern Sweet Potato Pie; a recipe for Coeliac suffers here.

@christking . I am always impressed by those who are able to simplify traditional recipes.  Here we have just such an example for Chicken Curry, and it looks delicious.

@thecoach .  How about a recipe for 'Mate' Lemonade?  Well here you have one.

and finally for now....

@jaymorebeet promotes one of my favourite dishes - Huevos Rancheros.  I can eat it at any time, can you?

Please take part in my Community Project. Place a link to your post in the comments box below if you would like your recipe to be included.  

In the meantime keep 'Posting' interesting content, as all I want to do is:

and:

as well as:

As often as I can!

   




Sort:  

New Followers get 0.001 SBD$ and an upvote for free!!

Just follow @steemvote and...

  • we follow back
  • send you 0.001 SBD to your wallet
  • upvote your newest posting

I love crepe and yours are looking very very good. I'm hungry now

Thanks for your reply. As I said in the post, a very useful thing to have in the freezer for moments just as this. X

Wow! your crepes is very good. It looks very soft and delicious :)

They are. Just in the middle of writing the post on how I have used the crepes. Why does it take so long to write a post? Thank you for your interest. :)X

Thanks for the recipe! It looks delicious.

My pleasure, and thank you for responding, much appreciated. :)X