My Natural Yeast Starter Challenge: Part 3. Plus @Patelincho's Bacon Challenge Contestants - Links to each entry's Post for You to Judge Yourselves!

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Hi Everyone.  Sorry to have been absent but the system 'Locked Me Out'!  I could barely post anything; talk about having withdrawal symptoms.  Anyway, the starter I killed by starving it of oxygen is back to where it should be at this stage.

I have started the slide show off with the poor initial starter.  You can see the two layers distinctly with no action; the solids have just separated from the liquid, and there is no aroma.  

Easily remedied by refreshing, as shown in my previous starter post.

I left the starter to do its own thing and it began to 'start' in a very small way.  

This can take several days, so don't be concerned if you get no action at this stage.  I usually leave it alone until I can smell alcohol emanating from the starter.  You might see an odd bubble on the surface.  When you can smell alcohol and there is a slight separation, the food in the flour will have been all used up.  

If you have this then 'clap yourself on the back' because you are well on the way to achieving  your own vigorous starter.  

It has to be refreshed at this stage.  Go ahead and .......

  1. Put the starter in a small bowl.
  2. Add one heaped tablespoon of flour.
  3. Sufficient water so that the mixture resembles heavy pouring cream.
  4. Whisk to combine.
  5. Pour back into the cleaned jar.
  6. Mark the fill line.
  7. Cover with a breathable fabric and tie on with an elastic band.

Repeat the above, only refreshing the starter when you can smell the alcohol.  

Source

Alcohol is produced by bacteria taking over from the yeast and souring the mixture.  

Source

To begin with, nothing really happens.  There is little yeast activity so therefore little bacterial activity.  It is only when the yeast has used up the available food in your starter, that bacteria gains the 'upper hand' and does its thing (alcohol produced, layers separate).

Do not be concerned if nothing seems to be happening with your starter.  It could take several days for any action to be seen.  As long as you keep it in a warm, light, airy, place it will work.  

Source

If yours looks like my initial starter then, do as I did and refresh.  If it stays together but shows no action then leave it alone until you smell alcohol and have a little separation.  Remember, it is 35 degrees C where I live in Spain at the moment, so the starter will begin to act much quicker than for someone living in Canada, where the temperature struggles to reach 25 degrees C.  It will happen though so just give it time.

Now for the entries in @patelincho's Bacon Challenge.  I have listed them in the order they were posted.  Look them over and make your decision as to the three winners.

@the-housewife has come up with a great children's dish of noodle balls, stuffed with cheese and rolled in bacon 'crumbs' before deep frying them.  They look delicious, I'd eat them.  

@feedroh has put together a healthy dish of bacon and egg, with avocado mixed in.  Part of the Ketogenic diet recipe plan.  Very tasty it looks too.

@eduardo88 brings us two dishes, one a healthy vegetable combination, the other, a delicious fry up.  Mmmmm!

@steemfluencer has taken part in his first 'foodie' competition and a jolly good job he has done too.  Yummy bacon and assorted vegetables, beautifully presented.

@phillip.willemse makes yummy potato pancakes (I love potato pancakes warm and dripping with butter), interlaced with mild cheese and bacon....yum,yum!

@allaboutpastries , well just look and see!

and finally,

@thomasaquinasftw gives us another yummy  pancake recipe, his post is a hoot!

If I can post this before tomorrow great.  If not, I will keep trying until they get my account running properly again!

Please take part in my Community Project. Place a link to your post in the comments box below if you would like your recipe to be included.  

In the meantime keep 'Posting' interesting content, as all I want to do is:

and:

as well as:

As often as I can!

   




Sort:  

Congratulations @allaboutpastries! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Great job! Thanks for linking to all that bacon. The world truly needs more links to The Bacon.
Following you now because I really appreciate attention to detail, especially in baking instructions!

Why thank you kind sir! Noticed when I was 'housekeeping' and as a bacon follower automatically followed you back. Good luck, I just loved your post. X

Ah shucks, Thank-you!

You are most welcome. Us 'Baconites' must stick together! X

Don't worry I understand I've been struggling between my phone battery acting up and my bandwidth depleted. It took me all day Monday just to post one article. My goal was to post it at 1pm I finally posted it at 8pm it's a little frustrating. Lol

Know the feeling. Have updated my starter really late this evening so if you miss it link is here: https://steemit.com/food/@allaboutpastries/allaboutpastries-let-s-get-up-to-date-with-my-starter-plus-more-interesting-posts-i-have-found-on-steemit-for-you-to-view . Thank you for being so understanding. X