The Tastiest (and Healthiest!) Banana Bread Around

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Banana bread and I have been in a committed long-term relationship since I was four years old. When my parents worked at a huge gas station chain here in Kansas City, I would always get a slice of packaged banana bread from the bakery aisle. I shared that same banana bread with my grandma, whenever my family would visit her in the hospital.

I also have memories of making banana bread with my mom. She had this big clunky bread machine that would take up half the kitchen counter. All we'd do is throw our ingredients in there and warm, moist banana bread was at our fingertips. Just like magic.

So what's a girl to do when she grows up and learns that banana bread is just cake in disguise, and that her waistline does not agree with her heart?

She improvises.

With a few overly ripe bananas in my kitchen, I set out to make a healthy version of banana bread that would keep me full while also giving me the nostalgia I needed.
IMG_1023.JPG
I chose to make this recipe using a muffin container instead of a bread pan for portion control. Using a silicone muffin tin also allowed for perfectly smooth edges.

Banana Bread Recipe:
Makes ~9 muffins
Prep: 10 minutes Bake: 20 minutes

Ingredients
2 VERY ripe bananas
1 egg
1/2 cup of rolled oats
1/4 cup of nut butter (I used natural peanut butter)
1/4 cup of baking mix OR 1/4 cup of almond flour with 1 Tbs of baking soda
2 Tbs of agave nectar or honey
2 Tbs of ground flax seed
1 tsp of vanilla extract
1/2 tsp of cinnamon
walnuts optional

Directions
Preheat the oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit/190 degrees Celsius

Combine all ingredients in a blender. Pulse until oats are powdered. (Note: you may need to add a smidge of water. My peanut butter had enough oil in it to smooth the blades of the blender so this wasn't necessary)

Pour batter into silicone muffin tin, filling each cup 3/4 full. If using a traditional muffin tin, line the tin with cupcake liners first. Sprinkle the top of each cup with walnuts if desired.

Bake in oven until golden brown, about 20 minutes. After the first 10 minutes, check oven in 2 minute increments until baked throughout.

IMG_1026.JPG

Enjoy!


Like this post? Let me know by upvoting!👍
For more content, hit that follow button 🔹


Follow me on social media!
Twitter: link
Instagram: link

Sort:  

This is an awesome recipe! I can't wait to try it out. Great, yummy looking photos also. ;)

Thanks for your comment! I hope you enjoy them!

You got a 16.67% upvote and resteem from @ebargains courtesy of @energyaddict22. Thank you for using the @ebargains UPVOTE and RESTEEM bot.

If you are looking to earn a passive no hassle return on your Steem Power, delegate your SP to @ebargains by clicking on one of the ready to delegate links:
50SP | 100SP | 250SP | 500SP | 1000SP | 5000SP | Custom Amount

You will earn 80% of the voting bot's earnings based on your delegated SP's prorated share of the bot's SP pool at the end of EACH voting round! That is up to 38.5% APR! You can also undelegate at anytime.

CONGRATULATIONS!
Your post was featured in the Saturday Kitchen Table curation post on my page

These look scrumptious! Im gonna have to give it a go soon!