🍰 Vegan Carrot Cake with Coconut Lime Cashew Frosting 🍰

in #food7 years ago

DSCF4428.JPG

Make this vegan carrot cake and you'll see why it's one of our favorite not-so-healthy treats ;) It's moist, delicious, and topped with vegan coconut lime frosting.

Even my hubby always goes for a second or even third piece when I make this. And he is not a carrot cake lover. Yes, strangely enough, they do exist. Who doesn't love carrot cake, right?

To be honest, I'm so happy we have some left in the fridge, 'cause writing this post and adding the pictures have made me hungry for more! So who's up for dessert? Or should I make dinner first.... Nah, I'll go for it now hehe!

If by any small chance, you are in the neighborhood (which is close to Angkor Wat temples, Cambodia) and quick, we have another piece left!! You gonna have to make it through the tropical rain though ;) But believe me it's worth it!

DSCF4430.JPG

Ingredients

For the carrot cake

2 cups flour of your choice
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
Pinch of salt
2 tsp ground cinnamon
1 tsp ground nutmeg
2.5 cups grated carrots
11/4 cup raw palm sugar
2 chia egg (or flax seed egg, 1 egg = 1 tbsp chia seeds or ground flax seeds + 3 tbsp water)
1/2 cup olive or coconut oil (we used olive oil)
1 tbsp apple cider vinegar
1 tsp vanilla extract

DSCF4346.JPG

For the Frosting

1 cup raw unsalted cashews, soaked
1 lime, juice and zest
1-1.5 tbsp extra virgin coconut oil
1-2 tbsp maple syrup
A little coconut milk to blend

Directions

For the cake

  1. Preheat oven to 350F or 180C.
  2. Grease cake pan with coconut oil. Set aside.
  3. In a small bowl, mix 2 tbsp chia seeds and 6 tbsp water to make 2 chia eggs. Stir and set aside for a few minutes to form an egg- like substance.
  4. In a bowl, combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg, and salt. Mix to combine. Set aside.
  5. In another bowl, mix the sugar, vanilla extract, apple cider vinegar, and oil. Mix well. Then add chia egg and mix again.
  6. Combine the two mixtures and stir until homogenous. Add carrots and stir again until incorporated. When the cake mix is too dry add a little water.
  7. Pour into greased cake pan and cook for 30 minutes in the oven or until a toothpick comes out clean.
  8. When ready allow to cool before adding the frosting.

DSCF4350.JPG

DSCF4358.JPG

DSCF4352.JPG

DSCF4363.JPG

DSCF4368.JPG

DSCF4370.JPG

DSCF4373.JPG

DSCF4383.JPG

For the frosting

  1. While the cake is cooking combine all ingredients in a blender or food processor. Process until smooth.b Set aside in the fridge.
  2. When the cake has cooled down completely, add the frosting to the cake. Serve or keep in the fridge for later.

DSCF4386.JPG

DSCF4391.JPG

DSCF4398.JPG

DSCF4402.JPG

DSCF4424.JPG

Have a happy and healthy week


ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL!
PICTURE(s) TAKEN WITH FUJI X-M1 AND OUKITEL PHONE C5 PRO


If you enjoyed reading this post, make sure to follow my news feed here

Or check out my health and recipe blog for more yummy recipes!

Sort:  

This looks like an amazingly delicious treat @amy-goodrich thank you for sharing ;-)

Oh how i wish I was your neighbour! I would be your guest everyday...So much amazing food on a daily basis!
Thank you @amy-goodrich

Aww, thank you so much. Likewise, love your creativity! Maybe one day we will be neighbors. You never know where life will get you! Have a great day ;)

My partner is not so in love with carrot cake either. I guess I have to try your recipe to change his mind :-)

put all your love to that carrot and i'm sure your partner will liked it :)

I add tons of love as a special ingredients, but when he doesn't like it, he wont like it. Spoiled boy! :-D

I hope he does! If not that's more for you hehe! Thanks for dropping by @ikaputri3

I hope too.. Otherwise, like you said, it will be all for me :-D

I love vegan carrot cake. More desserts should have vegetables. :)

I agree! Had a red beet brownie recently and it was amazing!

Good! Very good i like your recipe!! Let me try @amy-goodrich

I hope you like it too. Let me know what you think if you do get to try it! Have a lovely day ;)

it looks tasty yumm.. check also my post filipino exotic foods:)

https://steemit.com/food/@zeth/lets-eat-filipino-food

Thanks! It was yummy indeed!

I like the fact that it is healthy and without knowing I personally even wouldn't be able to differ it :)

Semie healthy hehe. Quite a bit of sugar and flour in there. But loads of carrots too! Thanks for your comment @divilati

this will make a meat eater want to go vegan!

Hehe thanks @gringalicious! If we all would go vegan for one day I would help our planet a lot!

Man.. you truly are a chef , I love carrot cake !!

Ohh you are always so kind! Thanks @journeyoflife Wouldn't call myself a chef though... I just love to eat and cook. Not sure if I would be able to handle the stress of a real kitchen!

@amy-goodrich great recipe as always :) It looks so simple and splendidly at the same time so I will try to do it this week!
If you will find a moment kindly check my new story about the market Koszyki (polish- shopping basket) in Warsaw. A modern, fashionable and glamorous hot place to meet, chat and eat :) cheers!

I hope you like it too! It's super easy to make! Have a great day ;)

Very well done steem. Really a professional job. I've never seen that frosting before. I'm going to do this cake in the near future. We feed 25-40 homeless 6 days a week. I'm sure they will flip over this. I won't have to say "It's healthy." They will just eat it up. upvoted and following for more great steems.

Thanks @amyswhimzyfl! You are such a kind person to feed the ones in need! I'm sure they love it!

Why do you have to live so far away from me @amy-goodrich? This looks gooooooorgeous and I want some immediately! I like carrot cake, though always homemade never bought because they usually put walnuts in for some reason and they are the only nuts I don't like. This is one recipe to write up for future baking days, thanks very much!

Hehe my hubby doesn't like walnuts either. I love them. How cool would it be if we lived a little closer... unfortunately not planning to come back to Europe soon. Well for a short trip, to visit family and friends but nt to stay. Love the tropical heat lol. I'm sure there will be a day we all can meet up ;)

I do hope so! Whereabouts are your family?... I don't think I've ever asked you where you're originally from!

Carrot cake with frosting is so delicious. I like your healthy version very much. :)

Semi-healthy hehe! Thanks, @alinalisa for your ongoing support.

Followed and upvoted!

Thank u so much for posting this delicious recipe for carrot cake. The world needs more of your vegan recipes <3

Aww thanks @nataliejohnson. That's so kind of you to say.

This looks amazing! I've been dying to try a carrot cake, and the fact that this is vegan is even better!

Super easy to make! You can add walnuts if you like, but my husband doesn't like them :( Thanks for dropping by ;)

Wow👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻

Looks delicious! Going to have a go at making it.. Thanks for sharing :)

Great that you added pics for the preparation phases too!

  • resteemed

I'll be trying this recipe this weekend. Looks SO good! Thanks for sharing! xoxo

Wow!! I like it :-)

That's looks amazing! I dream about this cream on the top of it!❤️ haha Will do this for sure! Thank you for sharnig! <3

Thanks for stopping by! The cashew frosting is just yum! Enjoy ;)