What's a Ñoqui? 🍝 Giving it a Try.

in #food8 months ago

Today is the 30th

One of the first things I learned here in Argentina was that there is a lot of tradition behind the foods prepared here. There's also a lot of Italian influence in the way people eat and how they gesture when they talk.

I have known about the tradition of ñoquis on the 29th of the month for quite some time, but I've never observed it.


2023-09-29-19-12-57-716.jpgslightly bastardized version of the tradition.

Last night I have it a try! The above picture shows my impression of the tradition as I heard it many years ago. I have also seen people doing this in restaurants so I know that it's kind of right. If not, I'm sure @hosgug or one of my other staunch Argentine friends will correct me in the comments.


➖➖ LA ARGENTINA = 💃 OR 🇦🇷 ➖➖ EL @ARGENTINO = 🕺 ➖➖

2023-09-29-19-12-51-963.jpg

When I first started working here I was shocked to find out that everyone who lives in this country has to wait until the end of the month before they get their paycheck. Then you get this lump sum and you have to really be careful to spend it wisely throughout the month so you don't run out of money. Something I definitely did not have to experience in the United States.

That is not where the tradition started but it is that way today and has been so for at least 50 years as the country continues to destroy its money, then release a new kind of paper money, then destroy that one, rinse and repeat.


➖➖ LA ARGENTINA = 💃 OR 🇦🇷 ➖➖ EL @ARGENTINO = 🕺

Because the end of the month usually brings hard times, and a lack of money, it is said that people only had some potatoes and some flour in the house the day before they got paid. So the end of the month meal became ñioqis.

2023-09-29-19-12-51-963.jpg

They look like noodles but they're not. They are somehow made out of potatoes and you pour sauce over them. My version has cheese on top which melted over the heat of the meal. Above, I noted that my version is a bit bastardized because I recently made chili, and American dish, and I used some of that sauce on the ñoquis instead of whatever the traditions are here.

The 29th of the month part of the tradition is in honor of Saint Pantaleon, who achieved Sainthood on July 29th of some year back in the 8th century, that's the gist that I got anyway.

Because Pantaleon had performed many miracles related to the poor and the lack of money toward the end of the month, people put money under their plates expecting miracles related to money.


➖➖ LA ARGENTINA = 💃 OR 🇦🇷 ➖➖ EL @ARGENTINO = 🕺 ➖➖

My son suggested that I put Bitcoin and Hive under my plate but I couldn't figure out how to do that. So I ended up putting dollars in pesos under my plate. Maybe I'll get more of those!

I am just a geek who spent half his life in the other 'land down under'


Originally posted on DClub Community Articles. Hive blog powered by ENGRAVE.

Sort:  

Congratulations @argentino! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 200 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 300 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Be ready for the October edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - October 1st 2023

You made me laugh @argentino, but the story is exactly like that!

It is a national tradition, although I cannot endorse it 100%, it is very likely that the lack of money in the last days of the month has contributed to this tradition that is ours.

Just a few days ago I heard an Argentine journalist who is in Spain and also traveled to Italy and asked if the history of gnocchi there also had that curious tradition of putting money under the plate but it seems that is not the case.

If the Italians make exquisite "gnocchi" with a variety of sauces that are the envy of the gastronomic world, but putting money under the plate and eating them every 29th of the month, no, that is exclusive to this particular country, so crazy. as dear.

Wow. I got it right. Nice!

They are so different from noodles (pasta). I did not gain any sums of money that I was not expecting as of yet, but I am not sure if it was supposed to come out of the sky or just by dumb luck.

My grandmother said: Rome was not built in a day. The money is coming, let's not despair.