Bread Bowls for Soups

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Bread Bowls

IMG_4405.PNG

I love bread 🍞 and I love making it! It's smells soooo good from the moment you start making it until the very end.

As you can see from many of my other blog posts; I like working with my hands and making bread allows me to do this.

I'm totally going to share the recipe and instructions with you. This is my recipe and I didn't get it from anywhere on the internet.

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 Tablespoon Dry Yeast

  • 1 Cup of Warm Water

  • 2 Tablespoons of Butter

  • 2-3 Cups of Flour

  • Cooking Spray

  • Egg Whites

  • Seasonings of Your Choice

INSTRUCTIONS

  • Warm 2 quart bowl by running hot water in, empty it out and add your 1 Cup of Warm Water.
  • Add 1 Tablespoon of Dry Yeast and stir it until dissolved. Do not use a metal spoon to stir; use plastic or wood. The metal messes with the chemistry that it takes to make the bread and can cause it not to rise properly.
  • Set a timer for 10 minutes and let the tan colored mixture set in a warmish spot.
  • Start adding in your Flour 1/2 cup at a time, stiring it in with your plastic or metal utensil. A soft squishy dough will start to form. You will probably add about 2 cups of flour to get to this point.
  • Next sprinkle some flour on your counter and leave a light dusting on your hands.
  • Dump the dough out on the counter and use your hands to kneed it. Add a little flour here and there to keep it from being sticky but not so much that it stiff and rubbery. Kneed your dough for about 5-10 minutes
  • Rinse out, dry and then spray the 2 quart bowl with cooking spray. (Coconut Oil Spray is my Favorite)
  • Put dough into the bowl, cover and put in a warm dark place and set a timer for 1 hour.
  • Once the hour is up take the dough back out and kneed it more.
  • This is where you add the seasoning. You can use what you like but @mselk and I used: Garlic Powder, Oregano, Fresh Rosemary, and Fresh Basil.
  • Make sure all of the seasoning is mixed into the dough really well.
  • Separate the dough into 3 equal sized balls. You could do 2 really large ones or even 4 small ones but I find that this recipe makes 3 in exactly the size I want.
  • Preheat oven to 375 degrees
  • Line baking sheet with parchment paper and sprinkle a few bread crumbs just where you are going to place the dough balls.
  • Place balls of dough on prepared baking sheet sit in a warm dark place for 30-45 minutes to rise a little.
  • Put in oven and bake for 16-18 minutes
  • Pull Bowls out of oven and brush lightly with egg whites
  • Bake for another 2-5 minutes
  • Pull out of oven and let sit for 5 minutes
  • Cut off top and dig out center
  • ENJOY!

Brushing on the Egg Whites IMG_9929.JPG

Fresh Out of the Oven - HOT 🔥 IMG_4392.JPG

Dig it OutIMG_4395.JPG

Sort:  

Looks good! I have a bread machine as I have attempted to make bread from scratch a few times and it is quite an effort!

I loved my bread machine when I had one but I really like the process.

Just like the ones they serve at the Renaissance fair, YUMMY

They were so delicious. Not too dense and perfect.

Man...That's great they have bread bowls. I've only seen turkey legs at our Renaissance fair!

Oh yeah, they got them!!
1461730567011.jpg

Yum!! 🤗

It s look tasty...Thanks to share the recipe.

You are very welcome!

Congratulations @bedoodle! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!