Squid Jigging in the City

in #food5 years ago

When I was a child we lived in a tiny sawmill town on the Hood Canal where my father was a night supervisor. One of my favorite memories was going out late on dark winter nights on the log boom with Korean members of his crew and their families to jig for squid. We would bring our brightest flashlights and shine them into the dark water where thousands of squid would be pulsing and swimming in giant schools. Jigging is a method of fishing where you set one or a series of hooks on a line, and ten gently tug (or jig) the line through the schools of squid to catch them on your lure(s). Once caught you have to reel in gently without giving any slack to the line, or they can slip back off into the sea.
20190126_214154.jpg

When a new friend suggested we head to the waterfront to jig for squid this weekend it brought back a flood of memories and I was excited to try my hand at jigging some 35 years later. She came over for dinner, bringing store bought and homemade lures that we charged up under a black light so they would glow underwater.

20190126_193858.jpg

She also re-taught me how to tie my fishing line to the swivel and lure. More childhood memories of times spent fishing with my grandpa flooded back. I hadn't tied a proper knot in a fish line for a good 30 years.

I was slightly concerned about the spontaneity of the outing and my lack of fishing license, but was assured that Dept. of Fish and Wildlife have better things to do on a Saturday night than patrol the city waterfront. I'll be getting a new license soon to set my mind at ease for future trips.

The night was clear and crisp, but not super cold, and the waterfront pier was peaceful and strangely beautiful under the gaudy lights of the Ferris Wheel. There was only one other group trying their luck with the squid, which was actually a bad sign. When the squid are in, there are many people vying for this abundant and easy to catch protein source.

We dropped our lines, shined our brightest flashlight over the pier and gently tugged our glowing lures through the dark water. The lures flashed underwater, and I could see a few fish checking them out, but sadly no schools of squid. This is very late season, so perhaps they have moved on already. My friend managed to catch a tiny flounder with her new homemade lure who probably was also hoping for a tasty meal of squid.

20190126_213611.jpg

We knew upon arrival this was not likely the night to catch many squid, but it was a magical evening all the same. I left the pier invigorated and inspired with a new potential abundant food source in the city. I can't wait to make my way back to the pier during the heart of the season.

Foraging food is one of my greatest joys, especially in winter when we tend to spend less time outdoors. I am grateful for new friendships, good memories and future success.

Sort:  

Ooh, that sounds fun! I assume they're saltwater only? Sam (my oldest kiddo) and I found a few good fishing spots in the creek we've been exploring. I'll be investing in a small backpack fishing pole to take through the dense woods with us.

Good job on the unlicensed fishing. That makes my heart happy. ;)

Yes, saltwater only. September through January is the season where I live near the Salish Sea.

Congratulations @belleamie! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 1500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1750 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @belleamie! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest⁴ commemorative badge refactored
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @belleamie! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 15000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 16000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!