Corned Beef - My Comfort Food

in #food8 years ago

When you live in another country you often find yourself yearning for things from home like FOOD !!!!



Comfort Food:

Most often it is comfort food, on those days when you really just couldn't face a deep-fried gourd and wingbean salad with curried chicken feet. Some days you just want it plain and simple, and so it is on the rare occasions that I make it back to Australia, the first thing my dear old mum cooks for me (on request of course) is corned beef and mash.

Now, corned beef is not a fancy or expensive dish, but it is among my favourite, and also it is particularly difficult to find most place in South East Asia. So, you can imagine my delight when a Sunday brunch outing in Bangkok turned up this little gem.

Roast, who served me up the amazing Iced Espresso Latte, also had this amazing item on their menu.


MENU:

* Corned Beef Hash: House-made Corned Beef, Sauteed Potatoes and Organic Poached Eggs


Making the Corned Beef

Now listen to how they make their corned beef. I know my mum puts a lot of effort into hers, but nowhere near as much as this painstaking process. First, they completely submerge a trimmed piece of beef brisket into their own brine of various spices. it is left there for 2 weeks and then rinsed thoroughly under cold water. Then the brisket is boiled in a pot with vegetable stock for 3 hours or until it is tender.

Then, from here the corned beef is prepared for my particular dish. The long tender strands are fried till just a little bit crispy and mixed with the sauteed potatoes. The 2 poached eggs placed on top give it some colour and some liquid goodness from the runny yolks.

So, was it as good as my mums....? I'm not sure, but it was still great, and I inhaled it in a matter of minutes and must admit that eating it did make me a bit homesick. I'd best go back to Roast next week and have some more !


Check out my other food posts on steemit:
Italian Gelato
Craft Beer: Queen of the Night
Mentaiko Sushi
Best Burger 3
Phuket Beer
Magura Makizushi
Brothers Toffee Apple Cider
Squid Takayoki
Matcha Green Tea Shake
Tokyo Teppanyaki
Spanish Omelette
Hen and the Egg, Breakfast
Sunset Cocktail with a view
Korean Bingsu
Volcano Cocktail
Tartinettes
Wine Tasting
Peking Duck
Hamburger
Texas BBQ
Mexican
More Mexican
Thai Pork Larb
Foie Gras
Dessert



Click here to:
dd8bd8753d41da7.gif

Sort:  

Man that looks goooooooood!

@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

looks amazing. Thanks for share. cheers