Something New

in #food3 years ago

Hi Friends,

I enjoy more than my fair share of good steaks, as I am fanatical about them. So when my wife and kids were going to be busy one night and I was on my own for dinner, I jumped on the opportunity to indulge in a good steak.

This time though, I wanted to try something new. I have had sauteed mushrooms on many prime rib dinners, so I thought I would give it a try on a regular steak. Here was the outcome:

36C9CEAD-F75C-4FE1-999D-7E36CBAC192A.jpeg

Prime rib is mostly straight beef with little seasoning (except for the outside bark of the roast) so adding mushrooms adds another layer of flavor and complexity. My fear was that, since I heavily season my steaks with a spicy spice mix, that the mushrooms would not add to the experience of the steak. I am happy to report that my fears were unfounded, as the mushrooms were bold enough to be a great enhancer to the spicy steak.

For the mushrooms, I cut up some white mushrooms and sauteed them in butter and garlic, and added salt at the end. Wow, they came out great, and really did make the steak experience even better.

I complemented the steak with potatoes, an onion and some grilled jalapenos - a great meal for sure and this will not be the last time I add some mushrooms to my steak!

Thanks for coming by,
Brian

Sort:  

Mashrooms are looing very tasty. Have good health.

Wow Very Delicious Food, Friend ,, @brian.rrr

I love mushrooms on my steaks. I do a trio of white, baby portobellos and cremini mushrooms. At the very end of sautéing I hit it with a splash of sherry wine. I sometimes add shallots as well.

Nice, that sounds amazing! 😎

Yum, yum!!!
I like that combo too (minus the jalapenos, hehehe)