Sous Vide Beef Brisket

in #food7 years ago (edited)


Does your BBQ brisket come out dry and chewy? I've always had trouble getting the flat to come out juicy. With sous vide you can get perfect results every time.

My Technique

  1. Season brisket with salt. I weighed the meat and took 1% of its weight in salt.
  2. Bag it up. I double seal the seams for some extra reinforcement for a long cook.
  3. Heat water bath to 160F. I used a 5 gallon bucket from Home Depot since the meat was so big.
  4. Wait. I let this brisket in the photo cook for 12 hours.
  5. Get the smoker hot. I set my Big Green Egg to 225F and added some hickory chunks. I waited until I had clean, thin, blue smoke.
  6. Season the brisket with a recipe blend from Meathead. Put the brisket with indirect heat. On the Big Green Egg I have the heat deflector between the fire and the meat.
  7. Remove when it looks good. It's already done on the inside so you're going for appearance at this point. It will also take on plenty of smoke flavor. I let mine smoke for 4 hours.

Enjoy!

Sort:  

Take precaution of this while making the BBQ brisket another time

Prepping the brisket
Prepping your cooker for smoking
Smoking the brisket
Low and slow
Mind the stall
Test when done

With my method above there's no stall to worry about. When it comes out of the bath it's "done" inside. It's not true authentic BBQ but it's a foolproof technique. Guests didn't know it wasn't real BBQ.