Foraging for food - part 4 Dandelions

in #food7 years ago (edited)

You can also forage for food in your lawns. And we all like free food. Dandelions are also a food you can forage in your lawns or where ever you find them. I know I am telling you about someting most people think of as a weed. I wouldn't use them if you used pesicides on your lawm.
dandelion-54314_1920.jpg

All parts of a dandelion can be used as a food source. The roots can be dried in the oven and stored in a air tight container and used to make dandelion tea.

The leaves before the flowers begin can be put in salads and eaten raw. After the flowering has begun you can still eat them you should steam or cook them first. The leaves are a little bitter but still taste good.

dandelion-2364589_1920.jpg

The flowers can also be used as a food source. You can cook the petals or even add them to soups to eat. We would make dandelion jelly with the petals of the flower head. I have relatives who make dandelion wine with the petals from head of the plant.

We have never canned or frozen any part of the dandelion except for the jelly so I can't tell you how they would do.

Stay tune for part 5 - Raspberries

coffeetime.gif
Thank you @marxrab for making my logo.

If interested in my past Foraging for food blogs here are the links:
https://steemit.com/food/@coffeetime/foraging-for-food-part-1-asparagus
https://steemit.com/food/@coffeetime/foraging-for-food-part2-gooseberries
https://steemit.com/food/@coffeetime/foraging-for-food-part-3-blueberries

Sort:  

Thanks for the interesting post. I knew you could eat the leaves but I didn't know about the flowers.

Upvoted and also resteemed :)

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

I have actually eaten dandelions and thistles trying out wild food s that I have in my survival book they are not that bad.

I have eaten thistles also. But only the milk and the bull thistles.

Congratulations @coffeetime! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

My wife has told me for years about dandelions for food.
I should decide to pick them from now on as a food source.
I am quite sure if I decided to do that, nature would make sure they never grow in my lawn again.
:)

That's new information for me! I've always thought dandelions are there to look good. Never knew i can eat them when time's are tough!

Thanks for the informative post!

Very neat! People keep telling me that roasted dandelion root taste like coffee. I believe them but have never tried it.

It's good you should try it.

I've seen some amazing results with the wine that you can make from these flowers. I'd love to taste it one day. Interesting plant for sure.

Clover flower heads are quite good too (I nibble them occasionally on pasture walks). They feel substantial for their size. I imagine a handful of those and you would feel sated for a while.

Not too many though, as I believe they can cause problems in large doses.

We use to eat the flower heads off of the red clover. I am loving all these comments on this post of what other people have eaten that grew wild.

I went and read comment on the above blog. I also watched your firestarting video. Your video was very entertaining.

I'm glad you enjoyed it, I've got an odd sense of humour sometimes :)

LOL, So do I

Congratulations @coffeetime! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

@ coffeetime I have actually eaten dandelions and thistles trying out wild food s that I have in my survival book they are not that bad.

This is the 3rd time that you are copying others comments and claiming them as your own. This is the exact quote from @cryptoforce in this same post above.

Thanks for catching that @celsius100

The repeated copying of others comments affected my sensabilities. Then I went away and didn't upvote your post. Rectified.

Thank you, I don't understand why people copy and paste things. It is almost like they can't think for themselves.