First Veggies From The Garden

in #food6 years ago

Fresh Veggies 

I Picked the first load of Veggies from the Garden today.  So all the hard work is starting to pay off and it is awesome to get Veggies when you know where they are coming from and how they were grown.  Plus it's kind of a family tradition, Someone from my family has farmed this land for almost 200 years.  I think I'll do a post with some shots of the old house and barn behind it(the barn used to be the house).  lol, my grandmother was literally born in a barn, granted that was almost 108 years ago.  

Everything is looking good except one squash plant, they even got the hay baled before the next round of rain storms.

I decided to hit the garden early today before the rain decided to hit.  

Trust me Georgia red clay mud in no fun walking around in, plus it is hard to get out of the car floor mats.

Waaayyy Too Much Squash

Just about everything is growing great except the corn.  I think I ended up with some bad seed, either that or the flood level rains the week after I planted it killed most of it.  The squash is looking particularly good.  I think we went a little overboard on them, it looks like we are going to have enough for 3 or 4 families.  That's good though, we always enjoy blessing the neighbors with the extra's.

Hashtag - I love Peppers, just not too hot

My peppers are looking great too and have loads of peppers on them already.  I decided not to grow too many hot peppers this year, I grew some Ghost peppers last year and it about killed me trying to eat them.  The chili peppers were awesome I dried a load of them, and I'm still using them to make chili.  

If you noticed I don't have a lot of weeds, it's because I've worked my butt off with a hoe and tiller to keep then cut down.  I did see a post the other day from @hippie-witha-gun about using straw and cardboard, which is an awesome idea if my garden was a bit smaller I would probably try it.  I tried mulch around my tomatoes, peppers and squash a couple years ago and ended up with termites in the garden.  Which wouldn't be bad but they started eating my squash plants right where they come out of the ground.  Here's a link to his post-https://steemit.com/homesteading/@hippie-witha-gun/gardening-the-backyard-update-putting-down-straw-and-cardboard 

Here's the proof of 

 a Zucchini a day keeps the doctor away (and gardening helps....)  

@papa-pepper I'll get this selfie thing down one day...

If you enjoyed this please

Follow Upvote and Restream


You can also catch me on 

LinkedIn Yes I'm a super-nerd computer geek who likes nature and gardening.

Twitter   Mainly use this for airdrops and other things I enjoy scoping out.


Follow Upvote Restream

@coinsandchains out...

Sort:  

They look great and how cool that you have the family history.

Thanks, I do some genealogy sometimes as well. I have records 6 generations back on that land. Sometimes you would be amazed at what you can find.

Yeah, we went right back with our family history and it was really interesting. Working the land of your forefathers is such a nice thing to do.

Hahaa,....always too much squash. After I get done freezing, drying, steaming and giving away my squash I like to make zucchini candy for the kids. It's actually really good when you have a sweet tooth and you don't feel too bad for eating it because it's,........squash. LOL

I make zucchini bread which is pretty good, but I doubt it's actually good for you. The kids and neighbors like it though.

Beautiful garden dude! WOW, loads and loads of squash.

Thanks man, it is difinately a lot of work, but I actually like doing it.

Nothing better than growing your own fruit and veg!

Our family has just moved into a new house this week. I plan on getting a veggie garden started once we have finished moving and are unpacked. It's the gift that keeps on giving, and the kids love to help with the planting and get to watch everything they planted grow.

This post was resteemed for FREE, by @rcr.bis Resteem Service.

Follow @rcr.bis to have your posts upvoted and resteemed plus a chance to win @steembasicincome shares.

Congrats on the move, the kids will love it. I loved it when I was a kid. My Grandpaw would give us each our own little garden spot to take care of and grow what we wanted to. Those are some awesome memories.

You just received a free upvote and resteem from @steemwhalepower please upvote this comment to help everyone who uses this service if you want me to remove this comment reply remove

I don't think I used your service...... So I gave you an Upvote not that it actually amounts to anything, but hey it's the thought that counts right. ;)

This post has received a 4.65% upvote from thanks to: @coinsandchains.
For more information, click here!!!!

If you use our Robot before your post has 1 day and get an Upvote greater than 1%, you will automatically receive Upvotes between 1% and 10% as a bonus from our other robots.

Do you know, you can also earn passive income after every bidding round simply by delegating your Steem Power to @minnowhelper?
you can delegate by clicking following links: 10 SP, 100 SP, 500 SP, 1000 SP or Another amount

Help support @minnowhelper and the bot tracker by voting for @yabapmatt for Steem witness! To vote, click the button below or go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and find @yabapmatt in the list and click the upvote icon. Thank you.

Voting for @yabapmatt

This post received a 30% upvote from @krwhale thanks to @coinsandchains! For more information, click here!
이 글은 @coinsandchains님의 소중한 스팀/스팀달러를 지원 받아 30% 보팅 후 작성한 글입니다. 이 글에 대한 자세한 정보를 원하시면, click here!