BBQ 'Doner' + Neu Black

in #food6 years ago

Not really the usual gardening post but quite happy about how this turned out and thought about sharing it. The bbq did take place between the plants, heh :D

I've liked the way my homemade chicken doner turned out last time(recipe) and thought it'd be even nice if I'd cook it on charcoal.
As you can see I had to get inventive in 'designing' a support that will keep it from just straight up burning on the outside while staying raw in the middle; some steel wire did the trick. I've also had a tray with some water underneath for half the cooking time to prevent burning.
20180522_183955.jpg

Tried to replicate the kebab shop experience and got the usual assortments. Cuc and lettuce from the greenhouse, toms, onions, peppers and pots from the shop as I mine aren't anywhere near close to being ready. For the sauce I made another batch of the lettuce salsa with some more garlic this time and added some mayo.
20180522_185724.jpg

Stacked it all on a wrap and rolled and we were good to go :D
20180522_190432.jpg
I've gotta say the obvious thing ... the BBQ version is way better than the oven one I've made before; no real surprises here.

As a cooking aid I've had And Union's [Neu Black] (http://www.andunion.com/en/product/neu-black/). Their beers always catch my eye because of their very minimalistic labelling; their wheat beer is quite nice as well.
20180522_170456.jpg

Almost black with reddish tones, quite murky. Malty and nutty aroma.
This was quite a nice beer, on the sweet side to start with but a lot of hops and fruitiness on the finish. Kept me hydrated well enough as I was toiling next to the fire :D

Aaaand ... that's it!

Cheers

Sort:  

Stop posting this, you're making me hungry 😸

Hah! Sorry but not sorry:D Goal achieved I suppose.

Thank you!