70 Kgs of honey harvested from 9 Bee-hives

in #food2 years ago

Hey everyone. Who would have thought possible to harvest over 70 kgs of delicious raw honey from a mere 9 hives. Well we just did so and what an epic harvest it was.

20220101_105208.jpg

The top pic I have just spun off filtered and am busy decanting what can only be described as the nectar of kings into a 25l bucket. Or was beer the nectar of kings?

20211230_201019.jpg

20220101_105213.jpg

We had a bit of a bee problem

A major one actually. The bees were getting in whilst I was spinning honey. Disaster as one can't work whilst been stung and bees dive-bombing the honey at the same time.. we found the gap in the door and tried to seal it with one sided foam tape which has partially worked.

20220101_105157.jpg

20211230_201000.jpg

Our process is simple. We uncap wax capping from the combs with an uncapping fork. Spin honey off with en electric centrifugal spinner and filter through two sieves then bottle. That's it. Honey doesn't get fresher and better than this, delicious virgin raw honey straight from the comb so wholesome and good.

20211230_201016.jpg

Nature the incredible.
I trust you have a wonderful year ahead.

Love, light and blessings.
Cheer$;)

Sort:  

Stop it. I just read @buckaroobaby's post about apricots which made me jealous, now you're doing it with honey.

What @craigcryptoking doesn't know is that he is bringing me half to make mead. We just got 15kg off one hive and it's simply not enough. How are your Aussie bees @riverflows?

Hehe been a honey king for 5 years.. thanks for blessing my sister always x

wow that's a nice harvest! also a good job keeping the bees away! ;)

I'll be back in Pretoria in a few days... trust you're gonna bring a sample or two to poker?

!BEER
!WINE
!ENGAGE


Hi @braaiboy, You Do Not Have Enough WINEX Tokens To Make Another Successful Call.
Please Stake More WINEX Tokens.
(We Will Not Send This Error Message In Next 24 Hrs).

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINEX Token Discord Channel
WINEX Current Market Price : 0.440

Haha hows the holiday bro?? Ill have to

The holiday was epic... didn't know I needed a break as much as I did until I got there and there was no signal... managed to completely switch off for a few days.

P.S. Planning a 420-festival at the venue in the next few months... it's lekker close to PTA (about an hour's drive)... we can even throw in a poker tournament or two ;-)

See you on Tues!

!WINE
!PIZZA
!LUV


Congratulations, @braaiboy You Successfully Shared 0.900 WINEX With @craigcryptoking.
You Earned 0.900 WINEX As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 3/3 Successful Calls.

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINEX Token Discord Channel
WINEX Current Market Price : 0.970

Congratulations @craigcryptoking! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 9750 replies.
Your next target is to reach 10000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Happy New Year - Feedback from the first Hive Power Up Day of 2022
PUD - PUH - PUM - It's all about to Power Up!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Craig my friend, glad to see such bounty! And to read below that you're sharing with your sister to make mead, oh man, that's most excellent news!

IDK if I reintroduced myself yet, this is @nateonsteemit, just with a dedicated account for my agricultural venturing.

I found a pattern in one of my homesteading books to build a hive with store bought lumber and, to the wife's chagrin, I think I'm gonna do it! The local farm store sells bee tending equipment and hives, but their hives are poor quality and expensive, so I'm gonna go with the more durable and more affordable option I've found. It's not a proper langsroth hive, but for home use and a completely uncommitted newbie like I am with all things, it'll suit just fine.

I sadly noted this year the complete lack of bees. I think I saw one bumblebee and maybe three honeybees. There was even a shortage of our usually plentiful native pollinators like ants, mason bees, and wasps, and I'm resolved to remedy all of that with a honeybee hive, some mason bee nests, and more bird houses. Probably bat houses too, but don't tell Melissa. She'll blow a gasket learning that I'm doing bees and bats.

Continue the good work friend, I hope y'all are well all the way over there. Blessings for your new year!

Hey bud ye bees are in short supply we need to nurture them.. for our very survival even. Be blessed abd thanks a mil. Cheer$;)

Oh this is beautiful! Honey is like liquid gold, maybe someday worth that much. Do you save the beeswax also?

Hey bud we dont save the cappings but we should get a solar still and do just that. Cheer$;)

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@braaiboy(2/5) tipped @craigcryptoking (x1)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!

There has already been too much ENGAGE today.