Food in Japan! Pictures of my culinary adventures.

in #food7 years ago (edited)

While hungry in Japan, I immediately went into a happy dance when seeing a sign like this!  💃 

Eating in Japan was difficult for me for a couple of reasons:

  1. I know very little Japanese (and even less when I first arrived)
  2. I'm a Pescetarian (no meat, yes fish/eggs)
  3. Our Google Translate app could not translate the Kanji Japanese alphabet 

Japan uses three different alphabets and the Kanji was adopted from China. It is essentially made up of the classic pictorial representations that most westerners associate with Asian languages. Because these pictures can mean many different things, it's very difficult for apps like Google Translate to convert to English. This was hard on us since it seemed that most of the menus and restaurant signs are written with these characters. 

Thankfully I had some amazing guides that helped me still experience a wide variety of local food!

Sushi-ro 

While visiting my friends Lara and John in Sasebo, we went to a great sushi place called Sushi-ro. This place has a conveyor belt stocked with lots of different types of sashimi and some sushi. Each table can even order their own rolls from a tablet full of options. The tablet allowed us to see options in English which made this place the perfect chow down spot! 

I couldn't get over the cheese and basil shrimp sashimi! It was good but seemed out of place next to traditional sashimi. Perhaps it was intended to appeal to westerns? I did not see sashimi like this anywhere else.

RingerHut

Another restaurant we visited was called RigerHut, it had a variety of noodle dishes. Thanks to John, I was able to get the seafood noodles with extra veggies. This place did not have an English menu but it sure was delicious!

Bayleaf

After visiting the Hirado Castle (click here to read my blog about the visit) Will, John and I stumbled upon a local establishment called Bayleaf. Here I tried seafood curry  which, according to John, has recently become more popular across Japan.

Hitoyasumi

Something that we noticed throughout Japan, especially in mall areas, restaurants tend to have plastic replicas of all of their food. For visitors it makes things easy, just take a picture of what you want and you'll usually get exactly that.

Here, I took a picture of a traditional Japanese egg dish, where the omelette-like egg is full of yummy spicy rice. Mine came with some shrimp and seafood sauce as well.

Plastic version:

What I got -> Pretty close right?  👍 

Ootya

We found this place at local mall in Sasebo, Japan.

I ordered the spicy tofu and vegetables. I love how most dishes in Japan are paired with multiple sides. In this case I got salad, brown rice, pickled cabbage/radish, and miso soup! I left full.  😋 

 

Traditional Japanese Restaurant

At the start of our official tour of Japan, our guide from EF College Break set up a meet and greet meal. I did not get the name of the restaurant unfortunately, but it had some neat artwork out front.

This meal consisted of sushi, sashimi, tempura shrimp/veggies, and a small hot pot of more vegetables to be eaten with soup. It was huge and delicious!

Food at a Buddhist Monastery

While staying at a Buddhist Monastery outside of Osaka, Japan (blog on its way!) we got to experience traditional meals for the monks who lived there. Traditionally Buddhist Monks eat vegan meals, at this monastery meals were small and made up of  mostly soup and tofu. Overall I enjoyed experiencing the Buddhist traditions but I would not have ordered these meals own. I enjoy my tofu a bit less raw.  😜 

Dinner

Breakfast

Mumokuteki

During my tour I had the pleasure of meeting @where-is-mer and during our adventures together we stumbled upon an AMAZING vegan restaurant. She's vegan and this place was like finding a needle in a haystack! Most of the menu was Vegan and it was even in English. 

I had the Tofu Hamburger Steak with Japanese style sauce, it was great! A welcome change from the monastery tofu for sure.  

Sunmi Hotel

While staying at the Sunmi Hotel, our tour guide arranged a traditional Japanese feast for us. This meal was very traditional and frankly a bit hard for me to eat. Crazy as it sounds, I usually stay away from fish heads!  😳 

It included (from left to right): 

  • Two hot pots of raw fish and veggies,
  • Thinly sliced duck in a fish sauce (I gave mine to Will)
  • A large cooked fish in garlic sauce
  • A large side shrimp and sashimi
  • Pickled radishes 
  • Cooked seaweed

Hot pot #1

Hot pot #2

Garlic fish with eyeballs included! Can you guess who tried them? (hint hint @SlickWilly

Side of shrimp and sashimi 

Street Food

I also had fun trying out some street food! This was cool because I got to see how the food was prepared and didn't need to worry about any miscellaneous chicken or beef being mixed in. Below is a picture of @SlickWilly and I with some bacon, fried cheese and a tofu steak topped with fish flakes.

This stand was selling little cakes with custard and sweet red beans inside.

I chickened out and got the custard, but Will had the red beans which I ended up liking it more.

Sweet Red Bean Ice Cream

Remembering Will's cake I had to try this!

YUMMM!

Crepes

Look at all these crepes! It was so hard to choose!

Will and I ended up with chocolate and vanilla ice cream and bananas, it was very good!

MISC Meals

As you can image, it was hard to keep track of all of my meals. Below are a few miscellaneous shots of the more interesting things I tried.

@SlickWilly and I with huge bowls of spicy noodles.

Mine came with eggplant and a medley of different seafood.

I got this meal at the Fukuoka airport and yes that is a raw egg up in the top left! The disk that I took a bite out of is fired burdock root which I really enjoyed.

Will and I at a local restaurant in Sasebo, I'm not sure exactly, but I believe I got another fish dish here.

Man I ate a lot! Thanks for reading, did I make you hungry?  😉 

Sort:  

Wow, everything looks luscious. You made me want to. I will follow your blog and your fascinating adventures

haha thank you! It's still early morning here in Virginia but even re-reading my post is making me want a second breakfast!

I love Japanese cuisine! Great shots! Keep Steeming!

Thanks! Yes I will, move over Facebook I think I have a new addiction to Steemit! 😄

You will love this post @frostbite

Do you know the names of the vegaterian restraunts you are at I want to go to Japan in the future so do you have advice

The only vegetarian friendly place I found was Mumokuteki in Kyoto, Japan. My biggest recommendation is Lawsons (similar to a 7-11), most of the food has english subtitles making it much more reliable. Its also a lot nicer than a 7-11 in the US, the food is actually very good.

Beyond that just be prepared to explain over and over again what you can or can't eat. Do not trust anyone who seems to understand the first time, it's not a concept that translates well and servers trying to please will say yes and then serve you beef. Street food was also pretty reliable you'll see a fair amount of Tofu and Burdock root by itself, both are pretty good.

Thanks so much