Pappardelle with Smoked Pancetta and Caramelized Red Onions

in #food6 years ago

Last October, I went to Rome for a food trip. The food was even better than I could have imagined. Since then I’ve been trying to recreate all the meals that I loved. What I like the most about Italian food is its simplicity. You can make a delicious dish with less than 5 ingredients, isn’t that amazing?!

These Pappardelle with Smoked Pancetta and Caramelized Red Onions are one of those simple dishes that require only a few basic ingredients that I’m sure you always have on hand. Fell free to use bacon instead of Pancetta.

Let me know if you try the recipe!

INGREDIENTS

Serves 2

  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 2.5 oz / 70 g pancetta or bacon, cut into stripes
  • 2 red onions, cut into slices
  • 1 tsp granulated sugar
  • a handful of fresh parsley, chopped
  • 3 tbsp grated Parmesan cheese
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • salt and pepper
  • 6.4 oz / 180 g Pappardelle pasta (or other long pasta)

DIRECTIONS

  1. Heat the butter in a large skillet over medium heat, add Pancetta or bacon and cook for about 3 minutes until crisp.
  2. Remove the Pancetta from the skillet and let it drain on a paper towel.
  3. In the same skillet, cook the onions while stirring for about 5 minutes. Then add the sugar and cook for a few minutes until caramelized.
  4. Meanwhile, cook the pasta according to the package instructions until al dente. Drain well, reserving 3 tablespoons of the cooking water.
  5. Transfer the pasta to the skillet with red onions. Add Pancetta, Parmesan cheese, olive oil, cooking water, parsley and mix together. Serve with freshly ground black pepper on top.

Thanks for reading and see you in the next post!

All content and photos are mine and original. I took  photos with CANON 450D.

If you're looking for more food inspiration, you can check my blog here:

https://www.instagram.com/denisakusnirova/

Deny

Sort:  

They have simple plates but good ingredients..tomato sauces, pastas, cheeses...drooling!

@denisa
That looks devine, I think I need to go get me some right now. Yum
stay blessed.

haha thanks! Have a nice day :)

Nice photograph looks yummy 👏... You can also check out my post on @alaoabdulhaleem ..i hope you will enjoy them and please endeavor to please upvote thank you 🙏🙏🙏

thank you :)