WHAT IS YOUR COMFORT FOOD?

in #food6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180313_200025.jpg
My comfort food.

Coming back from classes everyday to look for what to eat is one of the hardest job of my life. Most of the time I end up settling for the fasted food (instant noodle or oatmeal) or I get to eat at the hall cafeteria. Cafeteria menu is not as flexible as you want or you may get there and your favorite dish have finished for that day. Following the same routine all the time makes me bored and unexcited about my next meals.

So I decided to create something that will make me happy and keep me excited during the week. I came to a conclusion of cooking what I called my comfort food every once a week. The food will make me remember home and not feel bad about my limited choices in school.

This morning as usual I opted for mashed beans and fried plantains for breakfast, I wasn’t really excited to come for lunch as I knew I will eat the same thing again!. Out frustration of eating the same thing, I missed my afternoon lectures to go the local market and get some new items to cook. I didn’t go with a shopping list so as not be restricted. I bought some unripe avocados, sweet potatoes, tilapia fish, cucumber, star fruits, carrot, pepper, tomatoes and spinach.

I had no idea on what I was going to do with all those but I kept racking my brain on my way back. In my hostel room after arranging everything I bought, I came up with an idea. I decided to cook spaghetti and some fried plantain with some baked tilapia fish in butter. I didn’t have any image on mind on what I was going to expect but I ended up having the most amazing result I can ever think of. What was meant to be an experiment became a comfort food. I ate it with the whole of my heart.

So I am here to ask you all my friends, what is your comfort food? Share your thoughts and ideas here and let’s have fun!!!

Sort:  

Awesome

Thank you. Would you like to share your comfort food?