CoCo Ichibanya Curry House, Jakarta

in #food6 years ago (edited)

IMG_1732.jpg


Hey guys! In this food blog, I'm going to tell you about my experience at the CoCo Ichibanya Curry House in Jakarta, which originated from Japan, and has been acclaimed as one of the best curry restaurants in Japan as well as Indonesia since it's grand opening in Jakarta last year. It was the first time I've been here, and first impressions on the outlet were OK. The restaurant itself isn't that special, but not surprising since they are known to pay more attention to the food than the ambience, whether in Indonesia or Japan. As you can see from the picture above, that was what I ordered. It's called the minced beef curry with cheese sides.

IMG_1737.jpg


The curry itself had a price tag of IDR 60,000, an additional IDR 20,000 for the cheese, and IDR 25,000 for the green tea, so it all adds up to about IDR 105,000 before tax, which is equivalent to around USD $7.15. I consider that quite cheap for the fairly generous portion that they had to offer compared to the prices in Japan I saw online. Now on to the taste, I have to say that it was the most authentic Japanese curry I've ever had. The combination of spices and crispiness of the beef cutlets were on point and very distinct to Japanese cuisine and curry. Not to mention they have a spice level too with a scale from 1 to 5, 1 being not spicy and 5 being the most spicy, which I think is also great for Indonesians who typically love eating spicy foods. I myself decided on level 3, which was mild for me since I'm used to eating spicy foods.

IMG_1748.jpg

IMG_1749.jpg


The restaurant, as I've said before, is mundane. It looked like a typical fast food restaurant where you have to order first, where the only difference is that they have waiters who will bring the food to your table, opposed to a normal fast food outlet where you have to wait for your food before being able to sit down at a table or booth. I went to it's chain at the Kelapa Gading Mall in North Jakarta. It was located in the food court of the mall, so you had the option to order from the restaurant and sit in the food court area, where they will still bring the food to your table. I rate my overall experience a 7 out of 10. Although the curry was great, the only downside to it was that there was nothing new or unique to what they have to offer, and I could find a lot of curry houses in Jakarta with a similar taste and setting, although this one was the best (which I'd be astonished if it wasn't). But at the end it was still a great experience and I recommend it to anyone. So I guess that concludes this blog, have a great weekend!

IMG_1751.jpg

IMG_1742 (1).jpg



Thanks for reading my review! If you enjoyed it please hit the upvote and follow button to support what I do. Feel free to follow me too on these social networking platforms:
Instagram - @dominickoesno
Twitter - @dominickoesno


If you liked what you read, feel free to check out my previous post:
PARAMORE LIVE IN JAKARTA 2018


Best Regards,
Dom / @dominickoesno

Sort:  

You seem to like about travel and review of places to eat. That's why we invite you to post a review of restaurants through tasteem.io

#how-about-tasteem
You can learn about Tasteem by following an account:
http://steemit.com/@tasteem

If you need any questions, please join Tasteem discord:
https://discord.gg/SZvH5bA

Regards,
[Tasteem Global Supporter]

Just came back from gym and it's looks so tasty! Ummmmn yummy

Congratulations @dominickoesno! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
You received more than 100 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 250 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

You got a 3.14% upvote from @oceanwhale courtesy of @dominickoesno! Earn 100% earning payout by delegating SP to @oceanwhale. Visit www.OceanWhaleBot.com for details!

Congratulations @dominickoesno! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 250 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!