Food Blog: Mangoes 😋

in #food6 years ago (edited)

On the first leg of my great food adventure, I wanted to try something the locals in Jakarta have been craving. That is of course, mango desserts. I have been getting nudges from countless people I know to try the uber-popular dessert which was originally from Bangkok, Thailand. I had already planned for my mango eating spree this weekend and finally got to try some of them. I powered up the yelp app on my phone and began finding the nearest mango dessert place from my home, and got a little café called Mango Mango about 500 meters away in a mall called The Bella Terra Lifestyle Centre. I didn't know anything about these desserts and there are literally so many different cafés with different names I could go to, and nobody gave me suggestions on which place is best, so I just picked the nearest one to get a little taste. I tried two best-seller desserts they serve, the Mango Paradise and the Mango Juice.



Mango Paradise Dessert


The first dessert I ordered was called the Mango Paradise Dessert. It was a combination of fresh mangoes, mango panna cotta, mango ice cream, and mango sticky rice. It was definitely yummy, but it has it's pros and cons. I could say the mangoes were amazing. They were fresh and sweet and overall delicious. I'll just leave it to that on the mangoes. The ice cream was usual, and the sticky rice is a tad bit salty. It didn't ruin the dish, but it would've just been a little bit better if it was less salty. The downside of the dish though was the panna cotta. It was unprofessionally made and was not deserved to be called a panna cotta, where it was more of a pudding than a panna cotta. I'd give this dish a 7 out of 10.


IMG_1373.jpg
Mango Juice


The next dessert I tried was simply called the Mango Juice. This drink/dessert is the most popular among Indonesians, where I would see a lot of Indonesians enjoying this drink when I go to crowded places like malls, markets, etc. This was also the best mango dessert I tried here. It's amazing, the mangoes were sweet, the juice was fresh and they don't have an artificial taste to it, and the ice cream was just the cherry on the top. This beats my first dessert by a milestone, and I can see why a lot of people love this drink. I would rate this drink/dessert a solid 8 out of 10.


IMG_1348.jpg
Inside Mango Mango Café


The overall ambience was great. It was small and cozy, but not cramped. The service though, doesn't really reflect the great place. It didn't take a long time for my first order to be sent out, but the Mango Juice took literally 25 minutes to get to my table, where another customer who came in and ordered after me got the drink in about 5 minutes. After waiting for 10 minutes, I asked the waiter to check on my order, and it literally took another 15 minutes for the drink to be made. The service was totally bogus. It's a good thing it didn't ruin my whole experience here. But, I'd give it another chance considering it's still rather new and the staff were still trying to get the hang of it. Although I think my experience here wasn't amazing, I'd rate it a 7 out of 10. The food was OK and service was not so good. Considering this place is still in it's infant state, that's a considerable rating, where I know I could get better food with better service somewhere else. Well I think that concludes my first dining experience on steemit. Thanks for reading! x


IMG_1376.jpg
Exterior of Mango Mango Café



Best Regards,
Dom / @dominickoesno

Sort:  

Healthy Food

Posted using Partiko Android

looks so YUMMY, THE TROPIC MANGO!!. Here in my country mango is one of the most popular fruits

Thank you! Haha

very good post friend! I would go to that store some day, I invite you to follow me and see the content that I publish that you may like! you won my vote I hope your support!

@ dominickoesno, Mango is my most delicious fruit.

Welcome to Steem, @dominickoesno!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 3080 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : Steemplus 2.18.

Welcome to steemit @dominickoesno. Join @minnowsupport project for more help. Checkout @helpie and @qurator projects.
Send SBD/STEEM to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Send SBD/STEEM to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project, follow for random votes.

Welcome to Steem! Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem and we upvote our users to help them grow! Please feel free to download the Android app here and the iOS app here.

To get more upvotes, please join our Discord server here: https://discord.gg/N7Et97G


Welcome to Steem @dominickoesno.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchain works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!