Ginger Chicken Recipe - Chinese Style

in #food7 years ago

Recently I made a trip to Adelaide where I used to live. While I was studying at university there my mum used to come over and buy all manner of delicious meals from one of the food courts in chinatown (that was her way of cooking yummy food for me while I lived so far from home). My favourite dish was a ginger chicken recipe. During my recent visit I hunted down the exact food outlet and ordered some of this idolised ginger chicken. I was hoping it would taste as amazing as I remembered it to be - it did not disappoint. My senses were 'wet' with the desire for ginger chicken when I returned to Canberra - alas, I don't know any restaurants here that make it quite the same way. My mission last night was to recreate the same flavour as the dish I ate in Adelaide. Here is the recipe.

IMG_3101.jpg
"Ready to serve"

Ingredients

  • 1 chicken thigh fillet
  • 2 bunches of pak choy
  • 2 shallots
  • minced ginger (to taste - I used 2 dessert spoons)
  • minced garlic (to taste - I used 3 tea spoons)
  • vegetable oil
  • sesame oil
  • soy sauce
  • oyster sauce
  • honey

Cooking directions

  • Cut the chicken thigh into small bite sized pieces
    IMG_3091.jpg

  • Semi-finely chop the shallots
    IMG_3093.jpg

  • Chop the Pak Choy into bite sized pieces
    IMG_3092.jpg

  • Heat vegetable and sesame oil in a large pan (you will need a reasonable amount)
    IMG_3096.jpg

  • Place shallots, ginger paste and garlic paste in the pan and stir in the hot oil for a couple of minutes (this will strengthen the flavours)

  • Add the chicken and quickly seal the meat before adding the pak choy.

  • Toss everything so it is coated with the oils.

  • Drizzle extra vegetable oil, sesame oil, and water to taste (without drowning the mix).

  • Add soy sauce (1 teaspoon), oyster sauce (2 dessert spoons), and honey (1 dessert spoon)

  • Mix everything together

IMG_3098.jpg

IMG_3099.jpg

  • Keep lightly tossing the mixture around the pan over high heat until the pak choy is tender and the chicken is just cooked through (if you cook it for too long you will have tough chicken!)

IMG_3100.jpg

  • Serve with brown/jasmine rice...

ENJOY!

Sort:  

AJ picked your post @drarlenetaylor for his #TOP5 FOOD POST. Visit AJ's FOOD ROUNDUP to view where your post is ranked.
badge.jpeg

Thank you for choosing my recipe for AJ's FOOD ROUNDUP!

Congratulations @drarlenetaylor! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply
Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Tried this out - it does taste nice - suggest people balance some of the stronger tasting elements, such a ginger, shallots, etc to their own taste and palate.

Yes - I tend to enjoy a nice strong flavour. Also, adding some finely chopped red chilli would make this delightful! (I am just a bit averse to spicy food at the moment).