Squash Success

in #food4 years ago

I'm growing squash plants in the middle of my yard during the pandemic/lockdown/societal collapse, and FINALLY have some success to report!

I've documented this garden's progress from before it began, right here on the blockchain, most recently here, where I was hopeful my squash plants were finally producing a viable fruit. I was right!

I'm not even sure what variety I'm growing, looks like a hard-skinned acorn type, but we'll soon know for sure. The genetics are heirloom, and I'll be gathering seeds from this plant to be used again next year.

It's not huge (yet), but it's 200% organic (nothing but air, light, water, and soil), and it's going to be delicious (and it will make great healthy baby food for my little guy).

That's 2 of the 3 plants. I put them where the grass wasn't currently growing, and the vines can be shifted around to mow the lawn under them. It has worked fairly well, and now that a female flower has successfully pollinated, it feels like the tactic is paying off.

What worked? Patience! Yes, I've been hand-pollinating the female flowers with the male flowers, which is often enough to solve under-producing squash vines. In my case, I also needed to wait - perhaps for the plant to grow in overall size enough to sustain a fruit. Now, there are a couple other contenders I've got my eye on.

I'll update the final results of this fruit, and of the squash plants in general, in my upcoming garden posts and photo albums.

Grow in peace!
DRutter

Sort:  

Lots of great garden posts on the blockchain right now. Great year for producing food at home!

Those grew nicely! They filled in the potholes, made the yar look nice and they feel all waxy and squishy. They look like acorn squash and that's my favourite, can't wait. It will make great baby food just like the peas and beans.

It's not very big. Maybe it's a pygmy squash?

Dear @drutter, I invite you to join pur #NaturalMedicine community, where I am sure you will find like minded people to work with.