Weekly Meal Plan - 5th- 10th February

in #food6 years ago

After exploring the internet (and my own recipes) for some food inspiration, I've finally settled on my meal plan for this week. I hope you guys can take something away from it, even if you don't get round to making the meals this week!

As always, my formula is to cook enough food for two days (two dinners, one lunch) for two people, so if you're four people just double everything! I also assume that people have one day when they like to eat out/get takeaway/generally be lazy like me - we're all human! I will list all the ingredients you need, as well as why I chose that particular recipe, and then post a link to the full written/video recipe.

mushroom-mapo-tofu-3.jpg
Picture from China Sichuan Food

Sunday Meal
This week's big Sunday Meal is a hearty Meatloaf. I use my own personal recipe for this one which, if you use as much bacon as I do, could definitely last for a few days! Whip up some mash for a side dish or, if you're going keto, stick to some fried greens and replace the breadcrumbs with almond flour.

Ingredients
3 Eggs (boiled)
1 Egg (beaten)
1 Onion
1kg Beef Mince
20 Slices Bacon
150g Bread Crumbs/100g Almond Flour
Seasoning: Salt, Black Pepper, Cayenne Pepper, Worcestershire Sauce, Mixed Herbs, Cinnamon

For the full recipe, please check out my Dtube video here:

Mid-Week Meal
For that Tuesday/Wednesday when you've lost the will and have no food in, stick to an quick and easy One Pot Curry Noodle dish. The amount of ingredients looks intimidating at first, but the cooking method is essentially stick everything in a pot and cook, so it's much simpler than it seems! Tofu is very easy to come by nowadays due to the rise of veganism, but if you're thinking twice about having to go out of your way to find some, you'll be glad to know it features twice in this week's meal plan, so it's well worth it!

Ingredients
1 tablespoon sliced ginger
3 garlic cloves, minced
2 tablespoons red curry paste --(double check that the brand you use is vegetarian friendly)
1 litre vegetable broth
150ml full-fat coconut milk
1 tablespoon honey
300-400g extra-firm tofu, drained and cubed
200g rice noodles
2 large carrots, peeled and julienned
1 1/2 tablespoons lime juice (optional)

I've translated all measurements into the metric system for my own reference, but if you prefer the imperial system that's what's used in the full recipe which you can find here: https://ohmyveggies.com/one-pot-curry-noodles/#HjghLcFEAGeyFT5Q.99

End of Week Meal
If you want a bit of a treat/challenge to round off your week, try out this vegetarian Mapo Tofu. Living in Hong Kong means that I'm keen to try making foods that I have in restaurants at home, so expect to see East Asian dishes cropping up quite frequently! This is another vegetarian dish, and again the number of ingredients may seem excessive, but it cooks in no time at all so even if you're late home from work, this is a minimal effort dish!

Ingredients
450g tofu
6 middle size shitake mushroom (chopped into small pieces)
1 tablespoon Doubanjiang (Broad bean paste)
1shallot white
2 cloves garlic chopped
1 inch ginger sliced
1 teaspoon Sichuan peppercorn powder
1 tablespoon oil
1 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon light soy sauces
100 ml water

Find the full recipe here: https://www.chinasichuanfood.com/vegetarian-mapo-tofu/

I hope you like this meal plan guys. Are you planning on making any of these yourself? Do you have any suggestions or requests for what I should include in future meal plans? Let me know in the comments down below!