Big Bumble Bee, Harvests, Turkey Eggs, Wall Of Glass Studio, Grilling - Sunday

in #food2 years ago (edited)

The crispness in the air in the morning is a bit refreshing, it has the feel of the wind down of summer. The storms from the prior day blew out of the region quickly and we had a day full of sunshine and heat.

IMG_20220904_063908_HDR.jpg

While picking the squash I saw this absolute moose of a bumble bee in one of the flowers. The hairs on its back were easily a 1/4 inch long and I have no idea how those tiny little wings can support that brick of a body.

IMG_20220904_110336_HDR.jpg
IMG_20220904_110341_HDR.jpg

It did laps around the stamen before popping up and flying off to the next flower nearby.

IMG_20220904_110350_HDR.jpg
IMG_20220904_110401_HDR.jpg

Barely fit the 22 pounds of squash in the single tub. I found the yellow croockneck that I am keeping for seed but still needs to grow a lot. I looked through the squash in the cooler and surprisingly it is all looking good.

IMG_20220904_110640_HDR.jpg

I had forgotten to check the mailbox on Saturday and when I went out I found my new blades for the glass band saw had arrived. It used to be a good bit harder to come by the blades but now they are far more available thanks to the imports.

IMG_20220904_114539_HDR.jpg

I was out looking for lumber to use for my studio when I found a couple of nests of eggs. In the one I found 2 turkey eggs. The girls are old enough now to start popping them out for us and I am pretty stoked as turkey eggs are rather good.

IMG_20220904_122924_HDR.jpg

The peppers are slowly producing and the Anaheim gave me one, one carrot, and 2 Nardello sweet.

IMG_20220904_125415_HDR.jpg

I figured out what to do for the back wall of the studio. I have a bunch of old laminate flooring that got removed over the years and some was still in perfect condition while another stack had gotten wet on the bottom foot or so. I was able to cut the wetted pieces down on the table saw and got enough to make the wall.

IMG_20220904_142521_HDR.jpg

The first course was the important one to set the level of the rest. I installed the bottom 2 courses and screwed the bottom one in. I left the top course slightly loose to allow for easier install of the next course.

IMG_20220904_143408_HDR.jpg
IMG_20220904_143733_HDR.jpg

It took nearly two hours to get it all put up what with the interruptions and whatnot. I still have the very top pieces that I need to rip down but the foam ceiling will take up most of the space so I should only need an inch or two.

IMG_20220904_152402_HDR.jpg
IMG_20220904_152412_HDR.jpg
IMG_20220904_152416_HDR.jpg

With the wall up I was able to lug the old cabinet from the basement up, cleaned it out, and got it filled with my supplies. The cabinet even matches the wall pretty well.

IMG_20220904_162649_HDR.jpg

I got the fire going in the pit and grilled our burgers for dinner while the boys threw washers.

IMG_20220904_182158_HDR.jpg

I remembered that I had glass files in a backup on our server that I was able to recover and get to my current computer. There is a bunch of good info that I had been wanting and I have found a few other resources that I used to use.

IMG_20220904_205431_HDR.jpg

Today is lots of harvests, checking the melon garden, working on the glass studio, and trying to keep organizing and cleaning the yard.


300x600-2
^Affiliate/Referral Link^


Play Rabona the soccer manager game on Hive!
https://rabona.io?ref=flemingfarm
Signup With my Link and we BOTH get RBN

High Liquidity, NO KYC Exchange


For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, following, and sharing!

Donations or Tips

Bitcoin : 1C6idTJBJ3CJJt9kHoKi4av1XLzg8eQ7rv

Capture.JPG


FFF Runic.png

Sort:  

Turkey eggs? Did they ever brood out a batch or don't you have the male? After nearly three years and plenty of alternate incubating solutions we have not hatched out a single turkey. We are beyond frustrated and can only think that our turkey hen has such a bad attitude that the males stay away from her

Love those pollen covered bee shots!

Depends on the breed you have. From my understanding none of the broad breasted can mate naturally. By the time they are old enough they are far too large. Heritage breeds are more able to since they are slower growers and don't get nearly as big as the bronze or white. My tom is well over 30 pounds live weight now, probably near 40 pounds and the hens are over 25 pounds each.

While I am no turkey expert (clearly 🤣 ) I do know that these are not the American turkeys I remember from when I lived in the US. She is rather small and what I would call champayne. But she has the attitude of an emu!

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

I see your helpers were on the job. It's really starting to look like a studio!