How to Make Pickled Beets

in #food6 years ago

We are big fans of beets, but our favourite way to consume them is pickled and in this post, I show you how to make your own in about an hour. We eat them on liver paté and with just about any meat and potatoes dish you can imagine.

IMG_4559.JPG

Ingredients

This is a very basic, yet surprisingly delicious recipe.
You need beets, this recipe is for 1 kg / 2.2 lbs.
You need vinegar (4 dl / 1.6 cups), water (2 dl / 0.8 cups) and sugar (200g / 7 oz).
Finally, you need clean jars.
And that is all my friends.

The How-To

Wash all dirt off your beets, then cut off both ends. If they are big you may want to cut them in half. Place them in a pot with just enough water to cover them and let them boil for 40-60 min, depending on their size, until they are tender.

Place your boiled beets in cold water for a little while. This process makes it so you can slip the skin right off.

IMG_4557.JPG

Place the water, vinegar and sugar in a clean pot and get it boiling. Make sure all the sugar is dissolved. If you have some horseradish on hand, add about 5 cm/ 2 inches to the pickle for a couple of minutes.

While the pickle boils, cut the beets into slices, I prefer 3-5 mm thick and place them in your clean jars.

Pour the boiling pickle over the beets, close the lids and voila - you are ready to store them in a dark and cold place until you want to eat them.

Shelf life

I have no idea what the recommendations are for these pickled beets, but I've been able to store them for over a year without trouble. As always, use your common sense and your sense of smell. If anything looks or smells off, then out it goes.

Sort:  

Perfect, I've just harvested a load of beets!

You made my day with this one as I have half a bag left over from my co-op and I am going to do it! You also reminded me of what I can do with some liver I have stored away. My husband and son love liver fried up ...but I just can not seem to embrace it. I wonder if you could use honey or a sub for the sugar...hmmm
Have a fantastic afternoon!
Melis

I don't know about any subs.

If you have trouble with the texture of liver, try letting it marinate for hours in lemon juice. It changes the texture a lot and is my preferred way of eating it fried up.

I will try that thanks....

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by frugallady from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 0.52 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.