Cook with a Book: Cashewnut -Saffron Chicken Curry: An Indian delicacy

in #food7 years ago (edited)

IMG_2271.JPG

Me and my husband have the perfect marriage- I love to cook and he loves to eat!

Over the last 5 years, I have tried out many recipes and he has loved them all. His only complaint is that, I don't repeat the same recipe twice, no matter how much he liked it. Although, I understand his sentiments, I believe that food will only taste great, if the person cooking it wants to cook it and enjoys the process of creating a dish. Usually, I get bored of repeating recipes. It's the thrill of discovering a new recipe and modifying it to my taste, that brings me to the kitchen. This post is not about those recipes.

This post is about a dish, that managed to find its way into my recipe book. The one that holds those few recipes that are worthy of being passed down to the next generation.

IMG_3815.JPG

Today, when I was making a digital backup, of the my recipe book, I realized that great food should always be shared and so I am sharing the best recipe of the lot. This recipe is perfect and the result so delicious that I can't resist making it again and again.

THE INGREDIENTS:

IMG_3816.JPG

THE METHOD:

IMG_3817.JPG

THINGS TO REMEMBER:

  1. When browning the onion, keep stirring, otherwise the onions will burn.

  2. The process of frying the onions takes a while, so be patient. It's the most important step. It will take anything between 20-30 minutes and the end result should resemble this.

IMG_2181.JPG

To get the color right, you may add the ginger garlic paste later, once the onions have started to get brown. The onions take longer to fry, but the ginger and garlic only need 5-7 minutes of frying, to be fully cooked.

If you have passed this point in the recipe, rest is a cakewalk! Your food should be ready in half an hour, so go enjoy your meal.

P.S. If you can't understand my handwriting, don't hesitate to ask me for a clarification. :)
HAPPY COOKING!

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by fuchsia.ink from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 0.78 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

They look yummy in preparation. Is there any other alternatives besides cashew paste saffron? In case this cannot be found in other parts of the world?
upvoted

Cashewnuts are what give the curry it's flavor and body. I generally take whole cashewnuts and grind them in a food processor, the oil in them is sufficient to make a paste. Saffron is more of a garnish and can easily be skipped, if you don't find it!