Easy, healthy & tasty: Vegan stir fry recipe!

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Hello dear Steemians,
To celebrate my start on steemit I have cooked a yummy vegan stirfry!
And - just for you - I made sure to take plenty of pictures so you can remake it yourself if you wish to do so! :-)

Let's start by washing and chopping our vegetables!
raw ingredients.png

All done - from top left to bottom right: red bell pepper/paprika, potatoes, tomatoes, onions, broccoli, carrots and chinese cabbage!
raw ingredients chopped.png

Now on to preparing all the other ingredients like tofu, rice and spices. Of the latter you are free to combine whichever taste best to you; personally I have chosen ginger, chili, garlic, cumin and fenugreek.
all ingredients prepped.png

We are ready for the main part: cooking all these lovely prepared ingredients.
We'll start with the, boil water and let it cook for 10-15 minutes - depending on the type of rice you use; I recommend whole grain!
While this pot does it's work on low to medium heat we start by frying the tofu until it's golden-brown. You can use a little bit of oil to do so. If you use smoked tofu like me then you can also skip this step!
...Or do it anyway and try to flip like a pro! ...my cam sadly is not-so-pro :-(
flipping tofu.png

Set this aside and heat up the wok. When it's very hot you can put in all the grinded spices, add a bit of liquid (water or oil) and stir it until you can smell them. That's when you can start adding the solid ingredients, slowly one after another, starting with the ones that need to cook the longest. Remember to stir once in a while and let it simmer with closed lid. You can poke the vegetables with a fork to see if they're done!
cooking process 2.png

Ready to arrange the dish! Optional: add even more spices like salt and pepper in the end
ready for meal prep.png

Hot, steamy, delicious - ENJOY! <3
finished stir fry.png

I hope you enjoyed this post as much as I did, devouring my plate. Much love,
Cassy <3

Sort:  

Seems to be delicious.

uhm yummy... i love vegan food... lets spread the love =)

Looks delicious! What kind of spices did you add? Will def. give it a try. :)

thx!! ginger, chili, garlic, cumin and fenugreek -- and at the end salt & pepper :-)

yuuummm!

Looks tasty and nutritious !! Thank you for inspiring !!

vegan is a very unhealthy diet for humans.its like raising chickens on vegetarian. not good

This is not true. Please educate yourself before you hate on others.

hey I wasn't hating on anyone, just sharing my opinion. sorry for the confusion

it does sound like a delicious recipe and I am not averse to vegan foods

and I have educated myself pretty extensively which is why I chose to no longer be vegan. it was making me sick too

and I am following you and resteeming this post..coz I am such a hater

healthy chickens eat worms and bugs
.they are not vegetarians

vegatarian is human compassion, kind of pray to stop killing and hurting anybodies...
but anyway man are free... we have free will and their own consciousness

this is true.