Greek Yogurt Banana Oatmeal Muffins - Recipe by @michellectv

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Hello all, so I read a post by @michellectv the other week for a recipe that did not include wheat/flour. I am not allergic to wheat, but have significantly reduced my consumption. (As a weekend warrior/cyclist, I need to reduce as much inflammation in my aging joints and the reduction of anything wheat helps)
muffinpics.png

I used to bake a few times a month and bring in the goodies to work and they appreciated it. A guy that bakes? Yeah, I'm a minority when it comes to baking I guess...

So the recipe is really straightforward with the following ingredients taken right from the source: (Hope I don't get flagged for plagiarism) =)
https://steemit.com/food/@michellectv/greek-yogurt-banana-oatmeal-muffins-photos-recipe

2 1/2 c. old-fashioned (whole grain rolled) oats
2 large eggs
2-3 overripe medium-sized bananas
1/2 c. plain whole-milk Greek yogurt
1 1/2 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. baking soda
1 tbsp. cinnamon*
1/4 tsp. fine grain sea salt
1/2 tsp. vanilla extract*
2 tbsp. maple syrup or honey
walnuts, chopped*

Yield: 1 dozen muffins | Prep time: 5 min. | Bake Time: 18-20 min. | Oven Temp: 400°F (204°C) | *optional

  1. Preheat oven to 400°F and grease or line muffin tin.
  2. Combine all ingredients in a blender or food processor and blend until smooth.
  3. Divide batter among a dozen muffin cups. Top each one with chopped walnuts and rolled oats.
  4. Bake for 18 - 20 minutes or until inserted toothpick (or knife) removed from the center of the muffin comes out clean.

If you do cook, you may have most of the ingredients at home already:
IMG_1866.JPG

I spun up the oats in a small food processing unit. (I don't have a large one yet). Then just threw in all of the measured items into a bowl and used a hand mixer.

blend.gif

Michellectv posted a DIY peanut butter chocolate candy recipe the other month as well. She used silicon muffin cups in the recipe which I thought was pretty cool, so I purchased some. I do like the vibrant colors! And they can be reused over and over unlike the paper liners that you typically would get for baking muffins.
IMG_1868.JPG

My tip of the week if you are going to bake these. Use a ice cream scooper to fill in the muffin cups. It also works for cookies.
IMG_1869.JPG

I had almond slices instead of walnuts. I also had a little more than 12 muffin cups worth, so I filled them to the top...
IMG_1870.JPG

All done, mine took about 20 minutes @ 400*f. I poked them with the wood skewer that you see in the middle.
IMG_1871.JPG

They were not overly sweet and I like my baked goods that way. I highly recommend trying these if you have the time, it was quite easy to make.

Enjoy!

Sort:  

Looks delicious!🍌😋. Loving your choice of sliced almonds for the muffin tops.

I’m very happy that you found my recipe to be easy and straightforward. Yay! 😃

Thanks again for the recipe! I think that I will use the blender next time, I may have put a little more than 1/2 cup of greek yogurt in which may be why I had a little more batter.
Now you know that people on Steemit really do try your recipes!

Wow! You can cook anything. 😎

Umm, no... I'm a cooking hacker =)

Looks realy delicious! I love trying recepy from steemit posts. I have already done few before.
Will try this one.

If it's rainy and cold in NYC, it's a good time to bake!

You do remember. You are right.lol

Its nice recepie.I have worked a lot oats. Its helpful for heart patients and also maintain blood pressure. Your this post is so good and valuable. Thanks for sharing.

Glad you enjoyed the recipe and post, thanks for stopping by the blog.

it looks delicious! thanks for a nice recipe!

Try it and make a post! The best part is eating them for breakfast, they are really moist

很不错,感谢这位朋友的分享,我想我也可以学习做一些美味的。

You got a 4.50% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @glennolua!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

This post has received gratitude of 4.42 % from @appreciator thanks to: @glennolua.

It looks really good, I will try.

good post. master cook.)

A hard work is needed for this kind of delicious recipee...love this reciee keep it up..thanks for sharing amazing recipee.