Nam Tok Noodle Soup

in #food4 years ago

As I was walking home yesterday I passed this noodle cart that drew my attention. It was a very small, maybe 5 feet long cart, displaying all kinds of vegetables, meats, eggs and condiments.

Next to the noodle cart were some to small for me to sit on red plastic chairs, where a local was enjoying one of the concoctions this noodle seller apparently was capable of preparing with the ingredients at hand.

I asked the noodle seller what the dish was, and he told me it was Nam Tok Noodle Soup, also known as Boat Noodle Soup.

IMG20191228212427.jpg

I ordered one and watched how he started to prepare my Nam Tok. First he took one of the plastic bowls he had from on top of his cart, then he took a big spoon of beef broth and poured it into the bowl.

IMG20191228212153.jpg

He then sprinkled some vegetables on top, cut two boiled eggs in half and placed them neatly in the soup.

IMG20191228212200.jpg

After that, he asked me if I wanted spicy or no spicy and I said I would like spicy.

So, here he goes, few chopped peppers here and there, and boom there you go, one Nam Tok.

I carefully took the steaming hot plastic bowl of Nam Tok and politely thanked and paid the noodle chef.

Trying to position myself comfortably on one of the tiny plastic chairs, I was excited about the upcoming flavors of this wonderful looking dish.

And yes, it was amazing! From now on Nam Tok Noodle Soup is my favorite noodle soup (so far).