A Weekend in The life: Valentines Day

in #food6 years ago

When they said relationships are expensive, I didn't believe them...

IMG_2953.jpg

So my girlfriend came to visit this weekend, and we went to The Cheesecake Factory to celebrate a late Valentines day. I was prepared to spend a lot of money because we haven't been doin much together lately and I wanted to treat her to a nice dinner. Well, I have to say, as good as the meal above looks, I'm not sure it was worth the $70 that I paid.
Lesson learned: Give yourself a little more money than you expect to spend.

Polaris

The Cheesecake near me is in a huge shopping complex called Polaris. The place is really nice, especially when it's warm out (which it wasn't), but I'm always up for a walk around.

IMG_2950.jpg

We didn't actually walk that far because our buzzer wasn't guaranteed to even work outside the building, let alone across the mall, so we just went to Barnes and Noble and some clothing store for a bit and came back. This view, however, was right outside the door, so I thought I'd take a picture. I thought the area was really beautiful. The tower with the star (the North star, presumably, also known as Polaris) on top and the brick buildings and such just set up a nice scene. What's really interesting, though, is the two Dave and Buster's signs on the shops to the right. There is a D&B at Polaris, but it's not anywhere near those signs. An ad is an ad I guess.

The Soval

IMG_2940.jpg

This picture is actually from Friday afternoon, so excuse the discontinuity, but the parking garage I took this from just had a great view of the South Oval (or Soval, as we call it) and I wanted to squeeze it in somewhere. The Soval is the smaller, less taken care of open grassy area here at OSU. The Oval is in the center of campus and is much nicer and larger than the Soval, but I live by the Soval so I have a special appreciation for it. I loved the view of the main south campus dorms form this vantage point, along with the powerful sky overhead, and, of course, the Soval.

The Night

IMG_2954.jpg

The light in the stairwell of my building made everything outside the window disappear except the lights. I thought the lights looked really cool like this, but not good pictures turned out, so I took this one through the screen. It had been snowing and raining (snaining, if you will) all evening and the ambient light on the low sky mixed with the white cover on the South Oval under the lamplight made for another great scene.

The End

IMG_2929.jpg

Full disclosure, I have no idea when or where I took this picture, and it has nothing to do with anything above. I thought it was pretty and wanted to share it and thought it was a good end of a story image. So there you go, my weekend in a short blog post. I'm not off to do probably hours of chemistry homework, so wish me luck.