HOW TO MAKE CHAPCHAE 잡채 - Glass Noodles GALORE!

in #food6 years ago (edited)

chapchaetitel2.png

My mother is Korean, so I would love to share with you my version of the #recipe with the delicious glass noodles (= 당면) made out of sweet potatoes! #Chapchae is so versatile and healthy, you can either eat it with vegetables and beef or keep it #vegan with the different variety of veggies. Sometimes it‘s a little hard to give an accurate amount for the soy sauce with changing ratios, so I would suggest to go by your taste and to spike up the taste by adding soy sauce afterwards, if needed. For me this recipe tastes even better the day after and heated up, so I always prepare a lot serving about 6-7.

INGREDIENTS

Vegan VersionPLUS Meat
Sesame OilSesame Oil
Soy SauceSoy Sauce
SugarGarlic 3-4*
Onion 1xBlack Pepper
Carrots 4xHoney or Sugar
Mushrooms 300 gBeef 250 - 350 g
Frozen Spinach 500g (use fresh spinach if available)
One Pepper of each color
Glass Noodles 1/3 of the paket

ingredientsbig.png

DIRECTIONS

  • Skip to 2. for Vegan Recipe
  1. Meat Marinade: Cut the beef in small slices, put it into a bowl and mix it with 3 cloves of minced garlic, 1 tablespoon of sesame oil, 1 tablespoon of honey, 3 tablespoons of soy sauce and a pinch of pepper. Keep the bowl covered in the fridge.meat.png

  2. If you have shiitake mushrooms, make sure to soak them in warm water for 1-2 hours, but fresh brown mushrooms will also do. Rinse and cut all vegetables in small slices, preferably in the same size. This is not mandatory, but we fry the vegetables separately, just because of the size of the pan and to keep everything neat.
    veggies.png

  3. Use a big pan and stir fry the vegetables with some sesame oil and a pinch of sugar for about 1-2 minutes. Just make sure the vegetables are soft, but still have a freshness to it. Now, roast the meat with the marinade.
    veggiecooked.png

  4. Boil water in a large pot. Add the noodles, boil and stir them for about 8 minutes. The noodles can get soft really fast, so stir and check constantly, if you are not sure! Strain and cut them a few times (we always use kitchen scissors = fast & easy). Put the noodles back into the large pot and add 2 tablespoons of sesame oil, 2 tablespoons of soy sauce and 1 teaspoon sugar. Mix the noodles and heat up the pot with medium heat. noodles.png

  5. Add the cooked vegetables and mix everything well. After that you can add the beef.
    Mix everything one more time and add some sesame seeds if you like and you are done!
    endchapchae.png

I hope I could make myself clear with these instructions, if not please feel free to ask or correct me:) ENJOY!

chapchae.gif

Thanks for reading!

xxx.

Sort:  

<3

:)

Nice post. I love it and feel happy. I love to read it.

Thank you!:)

Excellent instructions! Great, clear and professional (including photography).

Thank you!:)

OMG! I love chapchae. I had it when i was in Korea for a time. There was a good place that delivered it and it was so delicious. I miss it so much, but now I can make it at home! Thanks for reminding me of that deliciousness.

Yey, it's so yummy. I hope it turns out great. Make sure to use as much soy sauce as you like, just tase the glassnoodles before mixing everything together, but my experience is to be careful, because it can get too salty. Have fun cooking:)

Thanks for the tips!

Yummy! Let's do this when I come home for Christmas!

Oh yes! And kimchi jjigae and samgyeopsal!

It looks tasty. Now I feel hungry :P

Sooorry:D

my favorite! looks so yummy your 잡채!

Thank you:)

looks absolute amazing .... so mouthwatering that its making me hungry. please keep sharing Korean recipes

I will :) We are making samqyeopsal tonight, maybe I‘ll make some fotos this time. It‘s rather easy and you don‘t need many ingredients for it:)