Tasty arepas. Very very tasty.

in #food6 years ago

Hello again my steemian cooking friends!

A while ago, one of my fellow Steemit Iron chefs, @chefsteve made a great post about arepas. That made a click on my head. I loooove this kind of meals and it’s been Impossible for me to resist any more. I had to do it or die. So I did this:

_DSC5837.jpg

_DSC5842.jpg

Ingredients (“Filling”)

  • 1 Kg Beef (One good for shredd)
  • 1 Onion
  • 3 Garlic cloves
  • 1/2 liter of wine
  • Salt and pepper
  • 200ml of water
  • Directions

    Put everything in a pressure cooker for 30-40 minutes (Easy!)

    _DSC5819.jpg

    Meanwhile, let’s do the sauce:

    Ingredients (“Sauce”)

  • 1/2 a sweet pepper
  • 1 Onion
  • 3 Garlic cloves
  • 1 Tomato
  • Tomato paste
  • Jalapeño
  • Oregano
  • Parsley
  • Salt and pepper
  • The super juice you have in the pressure cooker
  • Directions

    Chop the things you think are “choppable” and stir fry.

    _DSC5820.jpg

    _DSC5821.jpg

    _DSC5823.jpg

    When the meat is ready, shredd it and add it to the mix.

    _DSC5824.jpg

    Add tomato paste and some broth.

    _DSC5826.jpg

    Slow cook for 15 minutes untill you get a good texture. Easy!!

    _DSC5827.jpg

    To get the arepas, you should check @chefsteve’s post. He explains everything propperly. I barely get one round, got all bigger than him and wasn’t able to cut them in halves. So yes, better check his post. Anyway, even not beeing able to aproach his arepas, mine were fine.

    You don’t need to be a master.

    Summing up, you have to mix some flour with water and let it cool in the fridge for 15 minutes. Make balls, smash them and cook them. Easy!! (kind of)

    _DSC5829.jpg

    _DSC5830.jpg

    _DSC5831.jpg

    You will get something like this.

    _DSC5832.jpg

    _DSC5833.jpg

    _DSC5834.jpg

    This time I add some avocado (Everything with avocado is better) and cherry tomatoes.

    _DSC5837.jpg

    _DSC5840.jpg

    What a pleasure!! Try them!! I tell you!!

    Steeeeeeeeeeeeemmmmmmmmmmm

    Sort:  

    Your version looks amazing! The beef filling with the chilies and spices sounds delicious. I sometimes make them without the top like you did. And finishing off the dish with avocado just makes a great dish even better!

    @offoodandart created a new tag for this kind of post called MyTurn. When you are inspired by another person and you want to make your version of their dish use the tag MyTurn and also use MyTurn in the title. Your arepa post would make the perfect MyTurn post. Here is an example of a MyTurn post. https://steemit.com/cookwithus/@offoodandart/myturn-on-leelektrik-s-lettuce-and-courgette-soup

    Also, Thanks for the shout out on your post! I really appreciate that!

    Thanks! I had no idea... Next time I'll use it

    so @jorgegp your "myturn" on @chefsteves arepa recipe has inspired me to give it a "myturn"
    This looks simply so delicious - going to make it and give you some feedback on how my family enjoy it - thanks for sharing

    Can't wait to see It!

    They really loved it - although I had the wrong flour for the arepas - but they were delicious none the less @jorgegp - look forward to seeing your recipes in cookwithus

    wouldn't mind trying those! looks good , love some avo

    Yesss that felt good!!! Thanks!!

    yum! it looks easy to do and tasty as well :D! For some reason I always thought arepas were difficult to do, but now you've proven me wrong :P Thanks for sharing the recipe

    Yes! It is easy..

    Yes, that looks delicious, I think I will try it with some chicken and also with some beef,

    For sure It Will work with chicken... Make a post!!

    Seems like a delicious recipe. Beautiful pictures as well :)

    Thank you!

    So yummy!!!!

    I blame you for making me so hungry after midnight last night while reading your post, haha =D! Actually, it was my fault because I kept re-reading your post when I should've just stopped after reading it the first time. I was exchanging messages with @chefsteve and @pandamama then about how your dish looks so delicious. Makes me want to do a MyTurn on it as well. Traveling soon so it won't be for a while though.

    Thanks for sharing! Excellent and effective post!

    You just planted 1.04 tree(s)!


    Thanks to @jorgegp

    We have planted already 6082.45 trees
    out of 1,000,000


    Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
    in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
    Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
    My Steem Power = 18501.61
    Thanks a lot!
    @martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
    treeplantermessage_ok.png