My Version Of Eggplant Ensalada

in #food6 years ago

Hello there Steemians!

My cousins and I talked about how much we misswd eating tortang talong and ensaladang talong. One of my cousins went to the market and bought eggplants. They cost 20 pesos per kilos. He bought the medium sizes so we had like 10 pieces.

quick Info: "Talong" is what we call the eggplant in the Filipino language.

Going back to the 10 pieces of eggplant that my cousin bought, we prepared the 6 ones into tortang talong and the 4 pieces into ensaladang talong.

my eggplant salad or "ensaladang talong"

IMG_20180701_125745-01.jpeg

For this entry, we'll solely focus on how I prepared my own version of eggplant salad.

How I made the ensaladang talong:

It's very easy to prepare it. We only need grilled eggplant, 3 pieces red tomatoes chopped, one chopped onion, small size of ginger minced or chopped, lemon or kalamansi, vinegar, salt and pepper to taste.

I did not have enough time to prepare the grill so I just improvised, since there were only four pieces of eggplant that I used for the salad.

I just used to our stove, and did the grilling on top. Please see image below.

IMG_20180701_122032-01.jpeg

When the ggplants become tender and cooked already, take it out from the heat. Let it cool for awhile and then start to peel off the burnt skin of the eggplant. We are not going to include that.

Put the eggplant in a separate bowl and shred apart the meat. Mix it with all the ingredients and season it according to your taste. Then, it's ready to be served.

I guess you can make this as a side dish or an appetizer. One time in the past, we made this dish as dip for our fried fish. It was surprisingly a good combination. Try it too.

PhotoGrid_1508745993775.jpg

Please UPVOTE, FOLLOW, and RESTEEM!

steemitgif.gif