A bit about bread

in #food4 years ago

IMG_20200206_084216.jpg

Something different for a change for all the bread bakers on Steemit: here's a white bread I baked yesterday. I do not keep track on amounts and such, just the texture. I use wheat, water and sour-dough (which I keep in the fridge between baking) and whatever I got in the kitchen - oatmeal, spelt etc. This one is with oatmeal. The dough is pretty moist and I let it rise from about 8 in the morning to 11 in the evening. In that period I only touch it a little, add more flour or water if it needs and in the process flip one half on top of the other a couple of times. Some hours before I bake (after dinner or so) I add a lot of flour to let the surface of the dough become more dry and firm. This is to make it a bit like a scaffolding (or a balloon) in the first part of the baking so it doesn’t splash out.

I bake at 200°C for about 40 minutes on a heated steel plate.

IMG_20200206_091700.jpg

I seldom eat it myself, but my girls like white bread in the morning (and they also love to make outlandish lunch like sandwich and such). In Denmark white bread is more or less considered cake (i.e. unhealthy), so the buttered white bread (called French bread) with marmelade is, I guess, a bit like when the Italians and Spaniards eat little cakes or sugar sprinkled croissants in the morning. I eat mostly wholemeal rye bread which is what Danes consider proper food. Number two image is my breakfast today. Toasted ryebread with old cheese and a Swedish aquavit. My youngest daughter think that I am an intolerable Goody Two-Shoes, but I actually like it better than “French bread” :)

Sort:  

Aquavit for breakfast? You are just about as bad as my Serbian friends - Rakija bottle on the breakfast table.....
A Kräftskiva is usually the excuse for drinking lots of Akvavit - and I share that concern: I drink to keep it out of the hands of minors .......

You have of course been to one of those, kräftkalas I mean :) When I was a child I remember a very wild one held in the North western fortress city of Marstrand. There was this crazy Norwegian dentist who the grown up said danced on the tables when he was drunk. That evening my brother and I couldn't sleep because it was a new unknown place and we came down just as the tosser jumped on the tables that were really just countertops on trestles. It was pretty crazy - crayfish and glasses flying in all directions.

haha, that is funny, didn't think Norwegians were also that crazy - yes, I had some of those times in Sweden, but more recently in Serbia, man, they can drink Russians under the table!
Just noticed the part about white bread - I have similar for breakfast, called "Semmeln" in Austria (kaiser buns) and in Sweden they were called småfranska. To really make it a gut-bomb, I put lots of ham and cheese on it. But no booze until later, lol - and my fave poison currently is ouzo.

I got a different bread machine recently and it makes good bread. I may do a post about that soon. There was a bit of a community around the @breadbakers account a while back. I met @breadcentric at a London event where he handed out some dark bread you would have liked.

Hi Steevc ! Thanks for sharing @breadbakers ! Good discovering !
:)

It seem appropriate for you :)

I would love to get a report on those machines. Bread really are part of my daily life so it is quite fun to share something about that too. When my Kickstarter is running I will get back to baking rye bread and I will write a post about it too.

I shall do a post about my experiences. I am no great baker, but it's cool to produce our own bread.

Looks bloody awesome and sounds like a good process you have for the baking!

@apsu! @APSU!!! Bread! BREAD!

Nice job @katharsisdrill. You made me read the text too, not just look at the pictures because I had to know what went wrong in between taking the fist and the second photo. In goes the white bread and out comes the dark bread. I can do food like that too, but it's not eatable. :D

But as I said, your trick worked, I read the text and it all made sense. So again nice job, I never read anything, I just look at the pretty pictures. :D

I miss dark bread. Can't eat proper bread and dark bread. Only freaking gluten free and that sucks. Most of the time. There are some exceptions but most of the time the whole idea and the eating part just sucks. :(

I too am a bread maker, well done looks store ready :D

I baked a loaf of sweet potato bread this week, I love the orange color!