FIFA World Cup Cooking Challenge 2018. SAUDI ARABIA - KayCalCooks

in #food6 years ago

35294700_2130038080564481_7246243001020710912_n.jpg

Eid Mubarak! Day 2 of my FIFA World Cup Challenge and i'm representing Saudi Arabia with their 'national dish', Chicken Kabsa! Chicken and a red basmati wild rice cooked in middle eastern spices. Being honest, I was nervous it was going to be overwhelming, because I don't measure things like spices (and there were a lot of spices that went into this dish... like cumin, cardamom, cloves, nutmeg, cinnamon, dried lemon, ginger, garlic, onion, tomatoes.) but in the end, it was pleasantly fragrant (it made my entire kitchen WONDERFUL), balanced, flavoursome and really really tasty. Just comforting, wholesome and hearty home cooking. Traditionally this dish would be topped with toasted almonds (as well as the raisins), but my fat-ass forgot and I ended up eating my almonds as snacks during my work week (oops!) so I topped it with some toasted sunflower seeds instead...

RECIPE REFERENCES: RECIPE 1