Have You Tried Oatmeal Muffins Yet?

in #food7 years ago (edited)

They are okay! :)




Muffins and cupcakes are one of the most favorite desserts out there, they're easy to make, they are tasty and you can play around with the batter and the appearance to really shape your dream food!

Although it all sounds super fun, I don't think I've ever been into them in a way pretty much everyone I know is. I guess I've only made them about 10 times in my entire life and about 70% of that time I was trying a few different recipes to see how I can modify them.

Anyway, today I am going to make oatmeal muffins, I've never had them before, kinda curious how they're going to turn out. The recipe is very simple too, so anyone could make them. One more thing! I didn't have any eggs, so I'm skipping them too.

Ingredients:

  • 100 g flour;
  • ~ 80 g rolled oats;
  • 1 tb. spoon rolled oats;
  • half a teaspoon vanilla extract;
  • 150-200 ml milk;
  • 2 teaspoons butter;
  • 1-2 teaspoons baking powder;
  • sugar to taste.

Directions:

The first thing you wanna do is to grind your rolled oats, I did this in a blender, you can use a food processor or maybe you already have some oatmeal flour, then perfect - use that! Mix the ground oatmeal with sifted flour, add in the reserved oats, baking powder, sugar and mix them all together.

In a separate bowl, combine milk, vanilla extract and melted butter. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and stir until combined.

Preheat your oven to 180C or 350F, pour the batter into the muffin tin and bake for about 20-25 minutes.



So while we are waiting on our muffins to get done baking, let's make the chocolate topping, here is what we are going to need:

  • 4 teaspoons unsweetened cocoa;
  • 1-2 teaspoons sugar (or according to your sweet tooth level);
  • 8 teaspoons milk;
  • 1 teaspoon butter.

Directions:

Mix cocoa and sugar together, add in the milk. On a low heat start stiring it together until the mixture starts boiling up, turn off the heat, let it slightly cool down, mix in butter. Done!

I happened to have some almond slices which I will be using for topping as well, feel free to skip the nuts or use whatever you like.

So once the muffins are baked, let them cool down, decorate with the chocolate syrup and toppings of your choice.
I thought these muffins tasted warm better, but the cold ones were fine too. This recipe only makes a small batch of them, I had 8 muffins.

This picture depicts the proper way you lay down after eating the muffins so that they settle down better, take notes!

Bon Appetit!

Sort:  

I have never tried them but they look good... and so does your cat :)

Aw! Thank you! You should give them a shot if you're into oatmeal, they were alright. I'm just not a muffin person myself, but I like cooking different things.

I like muffins!

dramatic highlighting

Thank you! I'm experimenting trying to learn that low key technique!

I am highly allergic to almonds!

  • hey is that the #FartyCat at the end of the post?????

Say hi to Matty for me!

Oh no! You can skip them or put something else instead of them.
Nope :D the farty one is orange! This is Lena, the Russian bitch hahaha

LOL.

You are funny.

I have a super high speed blender I use for my veggie shakes, it is 3.5 HP.

(:

Thanks! Haha

I guess it is a good number for a high seed blender, I am not familiar with the grade, my blender is pretty powerful too unlike my food processor haha I like using it for grinding grains and nuts

HS blending for your health is the real deal, plus all the other stuff it can be used for.

It is a Waring commercial grade.

VitaMix is one you can find easily, Costco even now, the last few years, they are good, just not as powerful, but man, they have been around for like 100 years!!!

Good company and product.

Tell The Matt to grab you one so you can make him even more delicious stuff like your pictures always show!!!

and do it super fast LOL

The one we have is called Ninja and it's pretty powerful. Thank you for the recommendation, whenever it stop working I will look into the VitaMix ones. I've never been to Costco before too haha

Beautiful guide. I've done oatmeal muffins with peanutbutter instead of butter and with chocolate chips. Covered with mint and strawberry puree.

Mint and strawberry puree sounds amazing, I wanna try that next time, thanks!

Oatmeal muffins are my favorite. i like to take them hiking with me. :)

Ah! Neat! Thanks for the idea! :)

it's great on top of the mountain. I just go with it plain and no icing.

Noted! Me and my husband and our friends actually do plan on doing some hiking next month, so that will be perfect!

That's awesome. You should take your camera and take us with you :)

Another great idea @vegetarianbaker! Thank you for the tips! This camera is pretty heavy that's why I usually leave it at home haha

maybe one day we can cash in on consistently posting on steem with new camera equipment : )

It looks really yummy @kotturinn !

Thank you, friend!

@kotturinn pictures you've made are top norch! and hmm muffins with butter... the best :P
I've created post about street food in Warsaw, the capital of Poland. If you will find a moment please take a look:
https://steemit.com/food/@radzioha/warsaw-by-night-1-night-market-the-street-food-gem
all the best! :)

Thank you! And I shall gladly check out that post! :)

thank you very much for you time, hope you'll like it :)

I havent but after seeing this post i'm most certainly going to try them! I love posts like this, always get me in the mood to eat

Hahaha I thought you was going to say that posts like that get you in the mood to cook, but it's to eat instead haha! I know the feeling!

too good to be true.... <3

Haha! Thank you!

following and upppppping :D

you drawing miss @kotturinn ! well done once more 👌👌

Thank you :) although I think this entry is kinda weak haha

Doesn't look weak to me !! small choco pumped up bites !!

Thank you! I gotta go grocery shopping though, I hardly have anything at home to cook!

Yum! Getting hungry here! Doing a coconut water fast for 3 days! Day two... we're halfway! Once this is over I'll give your recipe a go!

Nice! It wasn't bad actually hahaha

Все выглядит очень аппетитно)) Особенно кошечка) Мяу!!!

МЯУ - МЯУ! В этот раз у меня мало продуктов было дома, надо закупиться для новых изделий!

OMG hahaha! They were good, but not THAT good oh well!
Thank you!

Ooh! Yummy!!

Thank you lady!

You're welcome!!

So nice!!!!

mmm looks yummy :)

Thank you!

This looks absolutely delicious!! I've made oatmeal and whey protein muffins and oatmeal and banana raisin. They both came out delicious. I must add this too my new recipe list thank you for sharing!

Thank you! Yours sound way better than mine haha I will give a go next time I make some!!!

These look tasty!

Oh thanks! They were alright hahaha

хнык, пропустила пост

мой походный шедевр был оладушки из геркулеса на костре

Я бы отведала, звучит интересно!

Геркулес плюс кефир - дать постоять пару часиков, чтоб геркулес набух. Перед жаркой добавить чуть соли, сахар... и жарить

Благодарю! Возможно, испробую этот рецепт этим летом, если достану оба ингредиента в горах Аппалачи.

Кефир уже есть во всех абсолютно магазинах рядом с греческими йогуртами с названием Kefir. и вместо геркулеса можно взять обычный овсянку из которой готовят пориджи

Ага, как раз вчера покупала в очередной раз. Но я не буду везти его с собой в Кентукки. Посмотрим, будет ли там в небольших магазинчиках.

Oh I don't know...I'm thinking its got to be oatmeal cookies or blueberry muffins for me. These did photograph nice though!

Thank you!
They were alright, I didn't have a lot of things on hand at the time I made them, there are many ways to improve them!

Yum yum yum yum yum! They look great @kotturinn! I never tried oatmeal in anything cakey but this is an interesting idea! They sure look tasty :-)

Thank you @woman-onthe-wing! Not gonna lie they were alright, there's still a lot of room for improvement I just didn't have much stuff to make them better at the time, and I accidentally poured a little bit too much of vanilla essence haha

With experiments, edible = success haha! You can just feed them to your husband, and when you make some even nicer muffins you can tell him"these ones are mine... you had the last lot". :-)

Hahaha, actually it is what I did, although I ate like 2 myself!

I haven't tried oatmeal muffins yet, but i would like to 🐾

They were alright! If I had more food available to me at the time, I would probably add some other things! Haha
Thank you!

I would probably add dog treats to mine 🐾
delicious!

There ya go! Sounds perfect!

o daaaaaamn! $209???? and yr pics are dope, esp the pic of kitty!

209?! It was 220 just yesterday! It gets on my nervous how it goes down all the time haha! Thank you :)
Yeah they changed the way voting works now, so people with less voting power add more value when liking posts, it's pretty cool!

hey, that works for a n00b like me! :D